Track exhaust advise - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LotusTalk.com is the premier Lotus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2008, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Track exhaust advise

Trying to reduce engine heat on the track so removing the diffuser was advised. I have a Larini Sport under diffuser model with Larini sport cat and it's too loud. I'm an aggressive driver, but a wuss when it comes to noise, especially for endurance sessions (6-8000 RPM) and the drive home (4000 RPM). So I need advise on the right above the diffuser muffler - light, not too loud, preferably legal at Laguna Seca, no drone, brain seems to prefer high over low pitch.

I heard the Von Hep on the track and it was very nice. Concerned about endcap screws, even though that seems like a good feature if it doesn't fall apart. Tubular has so many sizes - which one is just right? Is Larini's new Clubsport too loud??

Winner gets a free stock muffler
fine print: shipping n/incl.

Sorry if you all feel like this belongs in another catagory, but I trust my bros and sisters of the track more than the avg LTers
- 2010 Lotus Challenge Series Superstock champion
- 2012 Lotus Cup Open Class 2nd Place

R'elise Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-19-2008, 06:34 AM   #2 (permalink)

I assume you mean rear pannel removal and not diffuser. Assuming that, I liked the sound of someone at the track that ran custom Borla setup. He bought a universal Borla muffler and had a welder fab up brackets for it. Bought two 2.5" muffler clamps and a 90 degree mandrel bent 304 stainless 2.5" pipe. Sounds quieter than stock (verified by a dB meter) and no drone on the highway. However, the sound was more lower pitch than stock.
AZReason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 06:56 AM   #3 (permalink)

Glen,

Have you checked out S111's Larini Sport 8 inch exhaust?