The Lotus Cars Community banner
  • Hi there! Why not register as a user to enjoy all of the benefits of the site? You may register here. When you register, please pick a username that is non-commercial. If you use a name that appears on any search engine commercially, you must pick another name, whether it applies to you or not. Commercial usernames are for supporting vendor use only. If you want to become a supporting vendor and grow your business, please follow this link. Thanks!

Track Spring Rates

4K views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  eldonz 
#1 ·
So this weekend I decided that my 500/700 spring rates just aren't enough to keep the platform stable through the COTA Esses. I also kinda mangled my brand new home made diffuser!

I saw there was a TT2 elise there with 1000 lb springs in the rear but I didn't get to talk to him a ton as we were both having a series of mechanical issues. So I don't know what his fronts were.

I am a pretty good driver, driving the car near the limit, sliding through high speed corners, but I don't want to get into a situation where only an expert could drive the car fast, so my question.

Is 700/1000 the right spring rate for me? Should I go maybe just one step below this to 650/900? That might be a little safer too as the car will still push slightly. I am using Penske DA shocks and Fred said they are fine with 1000 lb springs.

I have a carbon 2011 rear wing and dual canards + splitter in the front. Not sure what my down force is in lbs, but it is certainly non zero.

#2 ·
Kevin,