Retrofit 08 Instrument Cluster? - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 07:11 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Noel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 33.87S 151.21E Car: ロータス MKII エキシージ Type: Komo-Tec S300
Posts: 466
Question Retrofit 08 Instrument Cluster?



Electronics technical experts, is this possible? I'm very certain, it's not a simple swap, plug and play.
Noel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 08:17 AM
Registered User
 
LBC111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,432
I asked my local dealership, and they said no, however, we've got some crafty people on this forum. I would change out mine if it could be done.

07 Exige S 265: GG, Track Pack, V1, RV Camera, S111 CF roof and splitter, 4.5-lb Voltphreaks battery, 10-lb Von Hep Exhaust, Green filter, 265 crank hp +/-, Volk TE 37 Wheels, RTDbrace, Scroth 6-point ASM harnesses, Innovative Motor Mounts, Saiku Michi Catch Cans. To come: IC fans, headers, and sport cat. 1955 lbs total weight (est w/tank half full)
05 Elise: Storm Titanium, Sport, Touring, Stage II (SOLD) (May '05 - Sept '06)
LBC111 is offline  
post #3 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 08:26 PM
Registered User
 
cpforyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBC111 View Post
I asked my local dealership, and they said no, however, we've got some crafty people on this forum. I would change out mine if it could be done.
forget the cluster...i want an OEM Retrofit Supercharger.

__________________
2006 Lotus Elise AW
cpforyou is offline  
post #4 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 10:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
I'm with ya on this, the orange one is just awful. Totally cheap.

I too asked my Lotus-trained mechanic, and he said he was told by a Lotus rep to not even attempt the conversion. I believe the wiring harness is different. Also, I think the LCD rectangle is custom programmed by Lotus, and not simply and off the shelf component.

I think ET member CharlieX once posted that he could create some sort of software interface that might be useful in a conversion. Perhaps he will read this thread and comment.
goldfive is offline  
post #5 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 12:16 AM
Registered User
 
rob13572468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,122
yes the cluster retrofit can *absolutely* be done.. we manufacture an interface that can be programmed for this explicit purpose. The lotus techs dont understand the conversion because its not just a matter of switching wire for wire, the vehicle networks need to be recoded for the new cluster info and they have no experience in that area whatsoever so they simply say 'forget it, it cant be done'


If someone is seriously interested in doing this the first step is to get an '08 model to our offices in chicago for a few hours. We have a lab there where I can pull the vehicle in and do all the data reads on the cluster as well as verify the wiring. Once that is done I can build you an interface and harness to plug in the new cluster to the older model.
rob13572468 is offline  
post #6 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 03:13 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Noel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 33.87S 151.21E Car: ロータス MKII エキシージ Type: Komo-Tec S300
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob13572468
If someone is seriously interested in doing this the first step is to get an '08 model to our offices in chicago for a few hours. We have a lab there where I can pull the vehicle in and do all the data reads on the cluster as well as verify the wiring. Once that is done I can build you an interface and harness to plug in the new cluster to the older model.
This is great news Rob. Anyone local to Rob wanna kick start this process? I smell a GB for harness/connectors + 08 instrument cluster.
Noel is offline  
post #7 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 08:04 AM
Registered User
 
MikeG911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 424
I'd be interested i getting the 08 cluster as well. Mine is a pain to see in daylight, i.e. temps, etc.

07 CO Elise, ReVerie CF Side Scoops, ReVerie 3-Element CF Diffuser, ReVerie center console, ReVerie front splitter, 111 Tow Hook, 111 Boomerang Tow Hook, 111 Bootie, Redline Boot, BWR Key, V1, Larini Exhaust, Green filter, LidBone, MicroMirror, R888, CF Sills, Stud Conversion, Exige seats, Schroth Belts, Sector 111 V-Brace....
MikeG911 is offline  
post #8 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 12:55 PM
Registered User
 
Iman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 679
I also asked my dealer about this.* they said it could be done for about 4K.

2007 Exige S: Solar Yellow. Lotus Challenge Series #101
Iman is offline  
post #9 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 01:12 PM
OSX Black hat
 
charliex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Las Vegas , NV
Posts: 10,000
the 08 cluster has a different wiring harness, different protocol (it now includes a config byte for locales for instance) and runs at a different baud rate.

it can be converted, you'd just have to read in the old messages at 1Mbps and convert them to the new format at 512Kbps.

or you could reprogram the earlier ecu's to spit out the correct messages at 512Kbps instead.

Black Exige S / Elan M100. Don't run a smaller pulley without an upgraded fuel pump! http://www.goth.am ecu stuff.. New reflash box coming soon!
charliex is offline  
post #10 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 01:46 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Noel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 33.87S 151.21E Car: ロータス MKII エキシージ Type: Komo-Tec S300
Posts: 466
Charlie or Rob - What would be the most feasible solution for a retrofit kit?
Noel is offline  
post #11 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 02:47 PM
OSX Black hat
 
charliex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Las Vegas , NV
Posts: 10,000
robs is probably the quickest and simplest, he can read in the old stream and translate it.

both methods would need the harness though.

i'll try to get a dump of the 08 can bus and post it for him.

Black Exige S / Elan M100. Don't run a smaller pulley without an upgraded fuel pump! http://www.goth.am ecu stuff.. New reflash box coming soon!
charliex is offline  
post #12 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 10:43 PM
Registered User
 
rob13572468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliex View Post
robs is probably the quickest and simplest, he can read in the old stream and translate it.

both methods would need the harness though.

i'll try to get a dump of the 08 can bus and post it for him.

that would be great charlie.. any read of the data will be helpful, also the schematic for the new cluster.

We also buy hundreds of harness wires and plugs each month so we can source hard to find connectors even when they are protected parts. Once I get the part numbes for the new harness plugs i can get more info.
rob13572468 is offline  
post #13 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 10:56 PM
Registered User
 
rob13572468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noel View Post
Charlie or Rob - What would be the most feasible solution for a retrofit kit?
We already have a can bridge module in production and field tested in hundreds of vehicles. It can handle conversion for different speed networks, change data structures and even adjust data values (for instance for speedo correction). We normally use it for mercedes applications where the bandwidth is much higher; about 1200 messages/sec so this application would be no problem.
Attached Images
 
rob13572468 is offline  
post #14 of 199 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 11:03 PM
Registered User
 
rob13572468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,122
also cost would be nowhere near 4K.. thats crazy. The biggest cost would be the price of the new cluster.
rob13572468 is offline  
post #15 of 199 (permalink) Old 09-01-2008, 01:29 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Noel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 33.87S 151.21E Car: ロータス MKII エキシージ Type: Komo-Tec S300
Posts: 466
Rob, Charlie ... Thank you for taking the lead and getting this happening. This will definitely be a worthy upgrade once you genius figure out everything.
Noel is offline  
post #16 of 199 (permalink) Old 09-01-2008, 03:30 AM
Registered User
 
ZAMMY1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: washington, pa, (near PGH.)
Posts: 1,983
the depth of technical expertise on this forum is stunning, as is the spirit of cooperation among competitors.
my hat's off to you all.
sam

'06 ELISE now with hidden talent and dual cigarette lighter sockets!
ZAMMY1 is offline  
post #17 of 199 (permalink) Old 09-27-2008, 01:25 PM
Registered User
 
RossL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Glenwood, MD
Posts: 476
Anyone make any progress on this? I would really like to put this instrument cluster in my 06 if it's possible (at a reasonable price)

2016 Porsche 911 GT3 RS (imminent!)
2012 Porsche Cayman R
2013 VW Golf R

Past
2015 Porsche 911 GT3, 2012 Porsche 911 Carrera S, 2009 Ferrari Scuderia, 2011 Aston Martin Vantage S, 2008 Aston Martin Vantage Roadster, 2006 Noble M400, 2006 Lotus Elise
RossL is offline  
post #18 of 199 (permalink) Old 09-27-2008, 01:31 PM
www.theapexinn.com
 
kestrel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Watkins Glen, NY
Posts: 11,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noel View Post
Charlie or Rob - What would be the most feasible solution for a retrofit kit?
Just get a new car ......it's easier !!

Elise #2292 / CO / Starshield / Nitron Sport SA / RTDbrace / Uprights machined / Down Low rails / DBA 4000 Wiper Slot Rotors/ V1 / SS lines w/Pagid Black / G-Pan / Odyssey PC680 with RLS Bracket / Difflow 5 Element diffuser / Stebel Nautilus horn
www.theapexinn.com
" I started flying when Sex was safe and Hang Gliding was dangerous "
kestrel74 is offline  
post #19 of 199 (permalink) Old 10-05-2008, 02:08 AM
Registered User
 
rob13572468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhoffa View Post
Anyone make any progress on this? I would really like to put this instrument cluster in my 06 if it's possible (at a reasonable price)
i still need to get my hands on an elise with the new cluster to read the data format. when someone can arrange to bring on by our offices for a couple of hours we can get started. also if anyone has the wiring for the 08 it would be helpful if you could post it or send it to sales@midcityengineering.com
rob13572468 is offline  
post #20 of 199 (permalink) Old 10-06-2008, 05:16 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Noel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 33.87S 151.21E Car: ロータス MKII エキシージ Type: Komo-Tec S300
Posts: 466
Anyone local to Rob wanna reach out and get this project moving along?
Noel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Electrical

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome