Hussie the S4... - Page 4 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LotusTalk.com is the premier Lotus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2013, 04:01 PM   #61 (permalink)

I am not an expert on the S4 or the S4s but they both use the same engine management system so I am assuming they used the same speedometer. Very easy to figure out if you have a mechanical speedometer. You should see a big, fat tube running up to the back of the speedometer. To repeat, if the mechanical speedometer is not reading 0 at rest it has a problem and if it is bouncing when you are moving it is probably the cable. The electronic speedo should never have any unusual readings except when the ignition key is off. If it does weird things when on (bouncing, stuck, etc) it could be a bad electrical connection, low system voltage or (least likely) a bad speedometer.
David Teitelbaum
jtrealty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-14-2013, 04:29 PM   #62 (permalink)

David,

They all use the same engine management from 89SE to S4s, Sport 300, X180-R, & GT3 (even the 89non-SE is similar), though they do vary in the use of a mechanical speedo or electrical speedo as others have said. They all have a wheel speed sensor at the right rear wheel for the ECU's speed reading. So an 89SE with a mechanical speedo can easily be converted to use an electrical speedo. The S4s, GT3, X180-R and Sport 300 use an electrical speedo, the others use a mechanical.

A bouncing speedo and erratic speed reading does not necessarily mean a broken or rubbing cable, however that is also something to check before rebuilding the speedo. The magnet inside the speedo can come loose and move closer to the needle thus dragging the speed reading higher. The fix is to press the magnet to the hard stop and glue it down. Then the reading should remain where it was calibrated.