Valve clatter? - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-08-2017, 06:39 PM Thread Starter

Valve clatter?

I've just landed a truly nice '94 S4 with 24,700 miles on the clock. Timing belt was done at 10,800 miles in 2007. Period invoices indicate that the head was surfaced at the time (?) which tells me that the valve clearances had to be set upon reassembly.

I'm new to the Lotus 2.2L motor; is the valve 'clatter' normal for these engines? Despite the passage of 10 years, 12,000 miles seems like a short period of time for the clearances to be addressed.

I plan on doing a timing belt shortly along with a few other 'updates' as 10 years is too long for my taste, but the issue of clatter has me seeking the input from the group.

Thanks,
Bob
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-08-2017, 07:17 PM

Sure its not the EFI? I dont know that I have ever heard valve noise in my 88.
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-08-2017, 07:32 PM

Garage
If it sounds like my late 88, it's the vacuum pump (do S4 Esprits have vacuum pumps?)

Eddie B
88 Esprit 'SLEEK GT'

post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-08-2017, 07:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sleekgt View Post
If it sounds like my late 88, it's the vacuum pump (do S4 Esprits have vacuum pumps?)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVuKlMOOEWU
Eddie,
Yes and no, the S4 only uses a small electric vacuum pump for the hvac system flaps, it uses an electric booster pump for the brakes.
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-08-2017, 07:49 PM

intake valve noise can be heard through a leak in the intake manifold, from either the MAP sensor port, the Tee to the fuel pressure regulator and the crank-case breather, or the charcoal canister port near the thermostat.

Checking the valve clearances is easy, changing them involves removing the cam towers and replacing shims.

Travis
Vulcan Grey Esprit 89 SE

My Lotus Project Photo Collection