Lotus Forum Lotus Forum
Go Back   LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Elan
User Name
Password
Register Home Forums Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


       
Registered Members do not see the above ads. Please Register Today - It's quick and free!
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2006, 06:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Moderator
 
babak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 8,269
Images: 23
Odd Elan auction

Something is not right. So he made a typo on the price. But is 4-5K the right price range for a hardtop Elan? Obviously this is one of those that you show up and pick up instead of doing anything remotely.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1967-...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________

Babak
Club111 Central Plains Coordinator

'05 Elise - Touring, HT, StarShield
'99 Ducati 996 Bip
'05 Freelander SE
babak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 06:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
TL
 
peck555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: White Plains N.Y.
Posts: 2,420
First of all it is a series 3,not a series 2.And 4400 is about 10,000 too low for a weber carburated twincam S3,even if it is a hard top.
__________________
Laser blue,biscuit, micro mirror, "Blue knob" ,HID lights,modded rear lights,rear badge,blue starter button, replaced speakers,perma grin,
Club111 The Sith lord of the LB's loyal henchman
peck555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Seabiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 943
It is a scam. I notified E-Bay to check anyway. Anytime they put a different e-mail acct for contact means they hijacked the acct. They are probably looking at getting a deposit from someone. You can e-mail by using the "ask the seller a question". The $4400 buy it now is a dead giveaway as well. No free lunch here!
__________________

______________
Greg
Seabiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Looking Down The Inside
 
powerbookguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 967
aww shucks i was hoping for a good deal. . . .
powerbookguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Elise #76
 
pianomaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,531
....and it says it's black.......sure looks green to me.
__________________
Owner of '05 Elise S/T- touring- LSS-Stage 2
'07 Audi RS4 4.2L V-8 420 HP - 6 Sp..(sold)
'07 Toyota Prius
pianomaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 09:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Bubble Boy
 
smoseley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 12,132
Images: 8
I don't think it's necessarily a scam. The email address is identical to the ebay id, and the $4400 "advertised price" is the starting bid, which he obviously started too low at $44. People sell things on ebay all the time starting at $1 no reserve. That's how a true auction should work, IMO. The only thing I'd be cautious of is the guy's feedback rating of 1.

Actually, upon further examination, I think it's a scam - just a poorly executed one. The restricted bidding and "price is 4400 shipping included" in the body are sure tells of a scam.
smoseley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 09:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
short angry bloke
 
codymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: where the east tapers out and the west begins
Posts: 9,260
Images: 19
Shame too... I'd really like to have a FHC Elan someday.
__________________
torque (tôrk) n. - an excuse for the lack of momentum.
- let's bring back CanAm & Group B!
- have you hugged your Exige today?
I'm currently working on my performance driving merit badge.
There's always somebody faster, sometimes it's me.
codymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 08:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
reganfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 650
Just curious, do they have palms in Fredericksburg, VA?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Whisky may not cure the common cold ……
but it fails more agreeably than most other things.
reganfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 12:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
About a year ago I think a key stroke logger got my screen name and password on ebay, because one day I logged in and noticed I was apparently selling an $800 dirt bike. Luckily I remembere seeing a customer service # for ebay on another forum I frequent. They took down the auction and reset my account info in about 10 minutes. Good thing for me I am addicted to ebay so I noticed like 2 hours after they posted the auction.
crisis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 12:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Seabiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by transio
I don't think it's necessarily a scam. The email address is identical to the ebay id, and the $4400 "advertised price" is the starting bid, which he obviously started too low at $44. People sell things on ebay all the time starting at $1 no reserve. That's how a true auction should work, IMO. The only thing I'd be cautious of is the guy's feedback rating of 1.

Actually, upon further examination, I think it's a scam - just a poorly executed one. The restricted bidding and "price is 4400 shipping included" in the body are sure tells of a scam.
It is interesting that he used the guys E-Bay name and made a MSN e-mail address with it to look more authentic. No plates on the car? Quite suspicious. But I guess it sold for $44.00 Heh!
__________________

______________
Greg
Seabiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 12:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
RegGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by pianomaniac
....and it says it's black.......sure looks green to me.
It is green, the interior is black. eBay does listings backwards, interior, then exterior colors.
__________________
My car can be scary quiet...Ford Fusion Hybrid...A technological wonder. Power to spare, high mpg for the environment.
RegGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Elan



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0