Has anyone's nav ever got frozen? - Page 2 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 10:07 AM
Registered User
 
Ron Avery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Winnetka California
Posts: 1,229
Garage
Guys, I don't have the INA W 900, I have the older 505 or 500 (not sure of the #) unit. The new nav unit they sent me has the latest update my unit will work with.
Ron

Ron Avery
Winnetka Ca
2005 Lotus Elise
2011 Lotus Evora 2+0
Ron Avery is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 10:54 AM
Registered User
 
Lckitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 2,009
Garage
Alpine Electronics of America, Inc.

look it up here once you get the model # to verify version.

2012 Lotus Evora - IPS, Nightfall Blue
2011 Jaguar XF-R - 510hp
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Overland, Hemi (The Anti-Lotus)


Totalled: 2011 Lotus Evora 2+2 - Canyon Red Metallic
Sold: Saab 9-3C, MGB, Miata, Merc 560SEL, F-150, Civic, Saab 9-5SE, '05 Ford-GT, '69 Cad Sedan DeVille, Triumph Daytona 955i
Lckitty is offline  
post #23 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 03:01 PM
Registered User
 
vmcdemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wayne NJ
Posts: 207
LcKitty,

Thanks for that, update complete!

Cheers

2013 Lotus Evora S Carbon Grey/Black
2010 Lotus Evora 2+2 / Arctic Silver/Charcoal (sold )
2016 Ford Focus RS / Frozen White
2015 Mini Countryman S / Cosmic Blue
vmcdemo is offline  
post #24 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 06:20 PM
Registered User
 
Bobsy Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Avery View Post
Guys, I don't have the INA W 900, I have the older 505 or 500 (not sure of the #) unit. The new nav unit they sent me has the latest update my unit will work with.
Ron
Ron,
We have the Alpine IVA W505, that they put in the early cars.
Bobsy Racer is offline  
post #25 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-05-2013, 07:49 AM
Registered User
 
Lckitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 2,009
Garage
Hmm, don't see an onlone update in there for that model. Just the ops manual. I guess you have the latest.

2012 Lotus Evora - IPS, Nightfall Blue
2011 Jaguar XF-R - 510hp
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Overland, Hemi (The Anti-Lotus)


Totalled: 2011 Lotus Evora 2+2 - Canyon Red Metallic
Sold: Saab 9-3C, MGB, Miata, Merc 560SEL, F-150, Civic, Saab 9-5SE, '05 Ford-GT, '69 Cad Sedan DeVille, Triumph Daytona 955i
Lckitty is offline  
post #26 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-05-2013, 08:31 AM
Registered User
 
Ron Avery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Winnetka California
Posts: 1,229
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lckitty View Post
Hmm, don't see an onlone update in there for that model. Just the ops manual. I guess you have the latest.
That is what I was trying to tell you. I am stuck with this P.O.S.
Ron

Ron Avery
Winnetka Ca
2005 Lotus Elise
2011 Lotus Evora 2+0

Last edited by Ron Avery; 01-05-2013 at 03:55 PM.
Ron Avery is offline  
post #27 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-05-2013, 10:21 PM
Registered User
 
Bobsy Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 905
So I got in my 2011 Evora, with the Alpine IVA W505, this morning to go to Irvine Cars and Coffee with some other LT members. After starting the car, my Alpine's screen went black after 5 seconds. Touching the screen would re-activate it for 5 seconds, but then it would go black again in any mode. I did the handbrake dance, and went through all the set-up menus, but could not find any way to reset the "time out" on the screen. It was a real PIA touching the screen every 5 seconds to see the nav, or set the radio, all the way to LA.

Anyone else experienced this ? Or, know how to reset the screen ?
Bobsy Racer is offline  
post #28 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-06-2013, 09:52 AM
Registered User
 
Lckitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 2,009
Garage
There's a timeout? Something is funny. I'd do a hard restart (force off, wait and then turn back on) while the car is running. If that does nothing then I'd reset the unit.

On my INA-W900BT (I know it is not yours but just for general ref) there is no timeout or screen blacking function. I do have an auto-hide feature for the on-screen music controls I can tun on or off but that's it. My head uint isn't great but I really feel for you guys with the MY10 Alpine.

2012 Lotus Evora - IPS, Nightfall Blue
2011 Jaguar XF-R - 510hp
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Overland, Hemi (The Anti-Lotus)


Totalled: 2011 Lotus Evora 2+2 - Canyon Red Metallic
Sold: Saab 9-3C, MGB, Miata, Merc 560SEL, F-150, Civic, Saab 9-5SE, '05 Ford-GT, '69 Cad Sedan DeVille, Triumph Daytona 955i
Lckitty is offline  
post #29 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 01:20 AM
Registered User
 
Justin182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobsy Racer View Post
So I got in my 2011 Evora, with the Alpine IVA W505, this morning to go to Irvine Cars and Coffee with some other LT members. After starting the car, my Alpine's screen went black after 5 seconds. Touching the screen would re-activate it for 5 seconds, but then it would go black again in any mode. I did the handbrake dance, and went through all the set-up menus, but could not find any way to reset the "time out" on the screen. It was a real PIA touching the screen every 5 seconds to see the nav, or set the radio, all the way to LA.

Anyone else experienced this ? Or, know how to reset the screen ?
That sounds like the 'off' function has been selected. This is a great function for driving at night time as the screen is very bright

Press the screen, then press 'Visual' at the top left, then deselect 'Off'..


As for the Nav freezing, then best trick us UK owners have found is to pull the ICE fuse out and put it back in. (assuming that a simple reset on the unit doesn't work)
Justin182 is offline  
post #30 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 07:29 AM
Registered User
 
Ron Avery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Winnetka California
Posts: 1,229
Garage
Update,
So after a nice visit with Don (Bobsy Racer) at the Peterson Museum on Saturday. My daughter and I drove home, on the way the nav screen turned black. Touching the screen did nothing. So I restarted the car, the screen came back on. Then aboust 20 minutes later my cell phone was ringing in the glove box, but not through the head unit. It had worked on the way to the museum that morning. So I think at this point, I need to find a replacement for my Alpine.
Maybe a Pioneer or Kenwood. As I have mentioned before, The fact that I need to spend money on this irritates me to no end. After spending $85000+ on the car! Going back to Alpine for yet another Nav unite (the 5th) would be useless, as this is obviously not the problem. The guy at United Radio (Alpines warranty company) said to me" If your engine was sputtering, would you ask Toyota for a new engine?" I said yes, if they could not fix the problem, after as many attempts as you have had at fixing my head unit. Stay tuned to this thread for my progress, or lack there of.
Ron

Ron Avery
Winnetka Ca
2005 Lotus Elise
2011 Lotus Evora 2+0
Ron Avery is offline  
post #31 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 07:46 AM
Disciple of Chapman
 
Chhirowolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Near St. Louis
Posts: 1,604
Garage
There was a time that Alpine was a great choice. I remember the rubbery soft mint green buttons on the single din units fo the 1980. great sound and functions out of thier cassette decks adn radios. Like many companies I think they have just started falling behind the technology or are just cutting too many corners. Pioneer adn Kenwood do not :blow me away" but are good reliable fuctional units at a reasonable price.
Chhirowolf is offline  
post #32 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 09:16 PM
Registered User
 
F1 SML8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,155
Ron, one last ditch effort would be to ask Galpin to push Lotus to replace your unit with a newer 900 series unit. Part of the reason why they don't want to upgrade you to the Pioneer is because the wiring is different and well, they probably just don't trust their techs.

However, the Alpine 900 series unit should be very close to a plug and play upgrade. Just a thought/suggestion before you resort to spending cash out of pocket.
F1 SML8R is offline  
post #33 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 11:35 AM
Registered User
 
Ron Avery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Winnetka California
Posts: 1,229
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by F1 SML8R View Post
Ron, one last ditch effort would be to ask Galpin to push Lotus to replace your unit with a newer 900 series unit. Part of the reason why they don't want to upgrade you to the Pioneer is because the wiring is different and well, they probably just don't trust their techs.

However, the Alpine 900 series unit should be very close to a plug and play upgrade. Just a thought/suggestion before you resort to spending cash out of pocket.
I agree,I have asked on more than 4 occasions ,Lotus, and United Audio (Alpines warranty company) United Audio suggested that I buy the 900 my self and install it.Do you really think that if I buy my own head unit it would be an Alpine? The answer has been a resounding NO, from all of them. I must say that my dealer (Galpin) has tried to help, but there hands are tied. I give up, No one will take responsibility to replace the head unit wth anything. They just want replace the same part,over and over and again. I AM DONE!!!
Ron

Ron Avery
Winnetka Ca
2005 Lotus Elise
2011 Lotus Evora 2+0

Last edited by Ron Avery; 01-08-2013 at 06:44 PM.
Ron Avery is offline  
post #34 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 05:53 PM
Registered User
 
F1 SML8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,155
Sorry to hear Ron, I can feel your frustration.
F1 SML8R is offline  
post #35 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 06:10 PM
Registered User
 
Ron Avery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Winnetka California
Posts: 1,229
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by F1 SML8R View Post
Sorry to hear Ron, I can feel your frustration.
Thanks, I just find this whole situation ridicules, they all stand around and point at one another. Customer be damed. The people at United Audio are the worst. They lectured me about wasting there employee's time because I talked to her for 10 minutes. After all she was in the customer service department,what was I thinking! They SUCK!!!!
Ron

Ron Avery
Winnetka Ca
2005 Lotus Elise
2011 Lotus Evora 2+0

Last edited by Ron Avery; 01-08-2013 at 06:27 PM.
Ron Avery is offline  
post #36 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 07:51 AM
Registered User
 
Plackslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 3,426
United Audio - they are the warranty people for our units yes?


Yes they suck - took near 5 months to get a replacement Sat unit.
Plackslayer is offline  
post #37 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 08:57 AM
Registered User
 
Ron Avery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Winnetka California
Posts: 1,229
Garage
[quote=Plackslayer;1834555]United Audio - they are the warranty people for our units yes? Yes they are.

Yes they suck - took near 5 months to get a replacement Sat unit.
And yes they do.
Ron

Ron Avery
Winnetka Ca
2005 Lotus Elise
2011 Lotus Evora 2+0

Last edited by Ron Avery; 01-09-2013 at 09:02 AM.
Ron Avery is offline  
post #38 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 03:58 PM
Registered User
 
Bobsy Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 905
This sure does not make me want to but ANYTHING from Alpine again !
Bobsy Racer is offline  
post #39 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 04:37 PM
Registered User
 
Julian73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Longview, Texas
Posts: 3,546
Garage
A number of manufactures use United Radio. I had issues earlier this year with them on a home system Marantz amp

2012 Evora S GP Edition #1 of 14
BOE Headers & ceramic Cat --Stepped-long tube, BOE CAI, Larini Sport Exhaust, LMS/Swindon Alloy Sump, BOE Fastworks editor TQ EV 420 tune.

1983 RX-7 Misty Blue
1985 Spec-7 Yellow / Black
1994 RX-7 R2 Vintage Red
2016 Miata Club Gray Mica
Julian73 is offline  
post #40 of 66 (permalink) Old 01-10-2013, 11:30 PM
Registered User
 
Plackslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 3,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobsy Racer View Post
This sure does not make me want to but ANYTHING from Alpine again !
The warranty issue is not with Alpine but United Radio.
Plackslayer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Evora

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome