![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
|
$19,000 Elise on Auto Trader
Thus just looks too good to be true. Yet there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with it. Is the Elise resale market really that soft?
Cars for Sale: 2009 Lotus Elise in Westminster, MD 21158: Convertible Details - 283389851 - AutoTrader.com
__________________
2011 BMW 128i cabrio, ///M Sport 2005 Elise in Racing Green with the touring pack 2007 MINI Cooper S in Sparkling Silver (sold) 2001 BMW Z3 Coupe in Sapphire Black (sold) 2002 MINI Cooper in yellow (sold) Founder of the Racing Green Confederate |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links | |||
Advertisement | |||
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 79
|
We don't have clay roofs or palm trees in Maryland. Google'ing the dealer name on the tag shows it's in NV.
2009 New Lotus Elise at Norm Baker Motor Co. Serving Las Vegas, NV | Lotus, IID 4598528 -Swift |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 37
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
|
Vehicle Description
Installed Options * Driver Air Bag * Air Conditioning * Alloy Wheels * Navigation System * Cruise Control * CD Changer * CD Player * Passenger Air Bag * Rear Window Defroster * Heated Seats * Leather Seats * Power Door Locks * Power Mirrors * Power Windows * Power Steering * Power Seats * Side Airbags Got to love those options too.... Heated seats , side airbags...and so on
__________________
1978 Honda CX500 2003 Honda S2000 with Greddy Turbo. 2005 Lotus Elise # 39 + LETSLA V2 2007 Honda Pilot 2011 EVO GSR |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 159
|
Quote:
![]() Peace!
__________________
-- SGT_Okinawa -- USA #1! Disclaimer: The above post may contain misspelled words, grammar errors and typos for all you grammar Nazis Please try your best to understand the meaning rather than the letter of the post. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
|
I've already run into two scammers selling Lotuses for unreal prices on Autotrader. Here's their typical reply:
"Hello, The car is still for sale. The asking price is $30,000. It is located in Patchogue, NY and the VIN is SCCVC11117HM82501 . The car is registered on my name and the title is clear (no lien). It is in great condition, no dents or scratches. It was always garaged and the regular maintenance was done in time. It wasn't involved in any accident and has never suffered any kind of damage. Also this is a non-smoker car. If you have any questions regarding the car just let me know! I had a buyer offering $32,000 and I've lost about 2 weeks waiting for him to pay just to find out in the end that his loan wasn't approved. I've lowered the price because I'm in desperate need of cash it's either the car or the house so if you don't need a loan you can have it. I'm currently signed up for a protection program offered by Google Checkout and I would like to close the deal through them. If you are not aware of this program you should know that it will allow you to test drive and inspect the car before paying me. You will have a 7-day inspection period to decide whether you want to keep the car or not before they release the funds to me. If you are still interested and have cash just send me your Google id (www.GoogleCheckout.com) and I'll ask them to fill you in with the transaction details. I don't want to offend you, but the car is priced for a fast sale so please if you intend to apply for a loan or financing do not reply to this message! Look forward hearing from you. Justin Howard" It's funny when you respond and say, "I'm 30-miles away, I'd like to come check it out tomorrow. I have cash in hand", they respond with a broken-english E-mail saying that the car comes w/ 7-day inspection period, yadda yadda yadda... ![]() Moral of the story. If it seems to good to be true, it probably is.
__________________
"Do what you have to. Beg, borrow, mortgage the house. If you're serious about driving, this is the car you want." ...working on it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
|
Also - the number listed is always in the proper area code but is always disconnected. Another true tell sign.
__________________
"Do what you have to. Beg, borrow, mortgage the house. If you're serious about driving, this is the car you want." ...working on it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 21
|
Quote:
__________________
Life is hard. It's harder when you are stupid - John Wayne ANY problem can be solved with an excessive amount of explosives - Common Sense Hope. It's what you do when you don't have a plan. - Bumper Sticker Current Fleet - 2006 Mini Cooper S, 1964 Impala Convertible, 1967 E-Type Jaguar, Series 1 On the Clock - 2006/7 Exige with Track Pack |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) |
|
Home Grown
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 584
|
I just got off the phone with "Norm Baker Sales" in Las Vegas and they are contacting Autotrader right now. It's a scam for sure... They will have it taken care of soon and they did confirm that they only have two Elises's for sale now at their location and this is one of them. Good find guys. They find these scams alot on E-bay but have never found one on "Auto-trader." Way to go......
__________________
2011 Evora Starlight Black/Gold. 2005 Elise Saffron Yellow- (sold) 2001 Porsche Boxster (sold) 2008 Nissan Xterra 2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 3,044
|
Quote:
__________________
Formerly known as BMW1 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Newport-Beach-CA/Newport-European/122890787733685?ref=ts Newport's New Look Website: http://newporteuropean.com/ |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#16 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 79
|
Actually, they were scamming off of a Canadian car. I had contacted them as well before realizing it was a scam.
-Swift |
|
|
|
|
|
#17 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
|
Might as well have some fun with them, eh?
Just got this E-mail from Mr. "Justin Howard" in response to an E-mail I sent him last night with a few questions about the car...."Hello, Here are my answers for your questions: -Does the car have the FML airbagless steering wheel and seat belt delete option? Yes it have -Does the car come with the "flaming chicken" decal in the trunk for optional application on the hood? Yes it come -Does the car have whistle tips? Yes -Was the car equipped with the "hummer" seat recline option with supplemental hand-grabs? Yes -You mentioned the car was a "non-smoker" car. Does this mean that smoking in the car isn't possible? If so, just cigarettes? Weed/crack ok? The car is a non-smoker car. It is posible to smoke in car but i dont smoke and was never involved in any accident. -Is this car working-girl friendly? Seems like it would be hard for them to get in/out with high heels and fishnets. I dont understand your question If you want to move forward please send me your google checkout id so i can start the transaction. Thanks"
__________________
"Do what you have to. Beg, borrow, mortgage the house. If you're serious about driving, this is the car you want." ...working on it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#20 (permalink) |
|
It Must Be Orange
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 534
|
I received a scam offer when I was looking for an Elise. A guy sent me a pic, a link to the cars.com home page and a super low price, but not TOO low of a price. Looked reasonable; but I responded to let him know it wasn't the color I wanted (which was true). He (or she), in turn, responded with something to the tune of "if I make it interesting enough for him he can make some calls and get me whatever I wanted."
But wait, there's more... All the while, I knew the pic I had been sent looked familiar. Sure enough, I had seen it on Lotus Talk and it was of a member's car. The member had posted it for sale on Lotus Talk but had also posted it for sale on cars.com and that's from where the scammer had grabbed the pic. So, I wonder why this latest scammer chose Westminster of all areas.
__________________
'05. Eyes up. Last edited by ksm; 07-23-2010 at 07:59 PM. Reason: privacy |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links | |
Advertisement | |
![]() |
|
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|