Gauge cluster issue - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-04-2012, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Pooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,428
Gauge cluster issue

I have a random problem. I started up my Elise last night and the gauges went all goofy. The engine will idle normal but it will read as idling at 3k rpm. Also, when I am at a complete stop it'll read as though I am going 5mph.

Anyone have a solution to this?

2005 Flat White Elise
Pooter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-04-2012, 04:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 393
Need to reset your Gauge cluster. Instructions are in the manual or searching on the site. Off the top of my head it's open driver side door, hold down trip reset button, and then turn key to on.
Wubot is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-09-2012, 11:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fremont CA
Posts: 153
It's something like-

With car off, ebrake on, open driver's door, insert keys but do not turn. Hold down trip reset button with car off for a few seconds. Then quickly let go and turn the keys full on. The LCD should say something like "VER X.X (DATE)" and the needles should return to 0 and jiggle a bit.

This sometimes needs to be done more than once to get them to go all the way back to zero if they are stuck on higher numbers.

Mike
Automotive Engineer
2006 Chili Red Elise #0005
Schumi is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-10-2012, 01:23 AM
Registered User
 
luxige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 2,496
^^^Good description. I'll add that it often takes several attempts.

In theory, there is no difference between Theory and Practice. In practice, there is. - Y. Berra
luxige is online now  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-10-2012, 12:04 PM
Registered User
 
Subparpunk03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 203
In addition to resetting / recalibrating the gauge cluster, mine was doing some weird stuff (cutting in and out) so I took it apart and blew a little computer duster on the connection points and it's been issue free ever since.
Subparpunk03 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-10-2012, 12:29 PM
Registered User
 
David Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subparpunk03 View Post
In addition to resetting / recalibrating the gauge cluster, mine was doing some weird stuff (cutting in and out) so I took it apart and blew a little computer duster on the connection points and it's been issue free ever since.
Was taking it apart very easy to do? I've had the LCD part of the display blank out for an hour or so on two separate occasions. If the gauge is easy to open I might investigate sometime.

2009 Saffron Elise
1986 Toyota Tercel - RIP Oct 20/2012
David Craig is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-02-2013, 04:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Schematic for Instrument Cluster Display

Does anyone know where I can find a schematic for the 2005 Elise Instrument Display Cluster?
LadyinRed is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 06:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 48
I appreciate all the help guys. I'm about to attempt it and I'll let you know how it goes.
-thanks
TheProdistini is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 10:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 48
Step 1.
Open door.

Step2.-press trip button as you instert key, hold trip button while doing all these steps other than when you open the door.

Step 3.- after a few seconds of holding the button turn the key to the on position while holding the trip button. If you did it right the dash will have some letters on it and they will reset.
TheProdistini is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2016, 11:44 AM
Registered User
 
Roundabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Craig View Post
Was taking it apart very easy to do? I've had the LCD part of the display blank out for an hour or so on two separate occasions. If the gauge is easy to open I might investigate sometime.
It pretty easy to take it all apart. I had to resolder some connector points on mine to fix the LCD issue. I've had to do this on several cars, so it's not just a Lotus problem.
Roundabout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Elise

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome