Lotus Elise: New-ish Driver's car? - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LotusTalk.com is the premier Lotus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2013, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)

Lotus Elise: New-ish Driver's car?

Lotus Talk,

I am a rather newer driver. I have fallen in love with the agility and beauty of the Lotus Elise. My only driving experience so far... has been in my mom's hand-me-down prius. Not a very nice car. I have the opprotunity to purchase the Lotus Elise, my only hesitation from buying it is my safety and my ability to drive a mid-engine car.

Thanks,

Seth

p.s. keep in mind, I've only ever driven a prius
Sethiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-12-2013, 11:16 PM   #2 (permalink)

How old are you? And would you consider yourself a good driver? Any accidents?

Also, have you put any time into learning to drive full manual yet?

I'm finishing some laundry and can post more later, but while I'm not necessarily saying no, make sure you've done your homework. The lotus was my first manual and the second time i ever drove stick was when I drove it home. However, I'm coordinated and a good driver and I just knew. I'm also 23 and had been a member of this forum for a couple years just reading and learning until I found my KG beauty.

The guy I bought it from bought his and paid the shipper to drive it to pull it into his neighborhood and he taught himself for the first time on it. So it's not impossible, but... make sure. Also make sure you know all the costs and care required. If you haven't yet, find the uber post and start reading!

Good luck with your research/potential purchase.

Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App
Nydus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)