Chevron vs Mobil gas - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LotusTalk.com is the premier Lotus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2008, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)

Chevron vs Mobil gas

I had been using Chevron 91 in the Elise since I bought it in 2006. I started using Chevron when I owned a 2000 Dakota 5.9 RT drag truck and noticed it ran way better on Chevron than anything else. So last month I was really low on gas in the Elise and did not want to risk running out. So I filled up with 91 at a Mobil station. Wow ! Holy crap it is like I did some major mod to the car, it is way way way more peppy , responsive, faster ! I originally wrote it off to the car being quirky , and stuck to my Chevron routine, but decided to give it a go again and filled up with Mobil the past few times. Simply amazing difference, very strange though, I am guessing the Elise does not like all the detergent crap , techron etc Chevron supposedly adds or maybe Chevron is not really 91 and mobil is ? I am sticking with Mobil now as much as I can !
2005 Lotus Elise
2011 VW Touareg - Support vehicle for all of the above
delise is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-13-2008, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)

i've noticed the same thing, im not sure but i think that unocal76 has the highest rated 91 octane, so i use that or shell as much as i can help it
FLuXeXigeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:30 AM   #3 (permalink)

I have noticed my car clearly runs better (particularly at idle) on Mobil and Exxon. It runs terrible on 76. However, I typically use Chevron, which is a Top Tier gas (better for keeping the engine clean). Of the Top Tier gases, my car runs best on Chevron.
ChrisH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)