Tips for Buying a Used Elise or Exige including information on SALVAGE titles - Page 2 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 35 (permalink) Old 06-17-2013, 01:38 AM
anglophile in exile

Quote:
Originally Posted by 65535 View Post
So, I'm fairly new to the idea of buying a car sight unseen. This is a great list, but how can you be confident of the condition of the vehicle based on the word of the seller?
Same way you gain assurance on anything out of sight - ask the seller lots of questions, get them to take specific photos, and finally, best of all, get someone local to check the car. Ask on here for mechanics familiar with our cars in the location you are buying from, or even members here will often help.

Finally - it isn't that expensive to fly to see a car for final verification

Hope that points you in the right direction

I bought my car from a dealer on the other side of the country. I agreed the deal before I even knew anything more than the VIN - have had it seven years now
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #22 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-05-2013, 04:35 PM
Elise Racer

Salvage vs Rebuilt: There seems to be alot of confusion on the "Salvage" vs "Rebuilt" title.
I can mainly speak on Florida rules, but I think that most states have the same definitions.
A Salvage title is a car which has been considered a "total loss" by an insurance company. This happens quite frequently on our beloved Elises and Exiges, because the front and rear clams are expensive to replace and other parts and labor can be quite costly as well. A car with a salvage title cannot be driven on the road.
A Rebuilt title is a former Salvage title car which has now been rebuilt and deemed to be safe and roadworthy by the State DMV inspectors.
A car cannot be driven on the road until it is inspected and has a "rebuilt " status title.