Supercharged is SSM Class - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LotusTalk.com is the premier Lotus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2009, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)

Supercharged is SSM Class

I'm fairly new to autocrossing and hoping get a bit more serious about it this season. In reading through the "2009 Solo Rules" classifications an '05 Elise with BWR SC will be in the SSM class.

Page 180 Says Turbo or Supercharged engines are classified on a basis of adding 1.4L to actual displacement.

Page 181 has the minimum Weight Calcs:
Minimum Weight Calculations:
All listed weights are without driver.
FWD: 1350lbs + 125 lbs/liter
RWD: 1600 lbs + 200 lbs/liter
AWD: 1600 lbs + 300 lbs/liter
Cars with engine located behind driver: +25 lbs/liter

My math says:
Engine capacity 1.8
Super Charger addition 1.4
Engine Capacity Basis 3.2

RWD WT Basis 1,600
225lb / liter * 3.2 Liters 720
Minimum Weight 2,320
Actual Weight 1,984
Ballast Required 336

Am I figuring that right? I think 336 lbs exceeds the max capacity of both the
trunk and passenger compartment once you add a driver.

- Todd
tpearsall is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-22-2009, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)

Found more on Page 180:
Weight Adjustments
Cars running tires with a rated width of 275 mm or less on all four
wheels may compete at a minimum weight 200 lbs less than their
calculated weight.

Engine capacity 1.8
Super Charger addition 1.4
Engine Capacity Basis 3.2

RWD WT Basis 1,600
225lb / liter * 3.2 Liters 720
Minimum Weight 2,320
Adjusted Min Wt 2,120 For tires < 275mm
Actual Weight 1,984
Ballast Required 136

136lbs seems more do-able. I'm a ways off from being competitive enough for this to matter, but want to make sure I'm understanding the classification.

- Todd
tpearsall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 05:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

Todd,