LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community - View Single Post - Ported stock header
View Single Post
post #10 of (permalink) Old 06-11-2006, 06:03 AM
fishguy

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo2nr
In every form of racing I've ever seen or participated in, Cheating is everywhere! There is a fine art to cheating and not getting caught. That's 50% of the game right there. You pretty much HAVE to cheat to expect a win. Moto-X....people bored their motors out, swapped parts, porting, etc..Same thing all the way up to the pros. Same thing in NASCAR. Same thing in Formula 1. If you can't live with yourself for cheating, you probably won't see the podium often. Just my opinion....

Scott
I have some experience with this also. its been a while since i ran competitively, but FWIW. I roadraced motorcycles 750s at the time, and my freind, a mechanic, could just walk away from everyone on the straights, it was frustrating as this was the stock class. I could make up ground in the twisties on him , but then he would just move out on the straights again with nearly same postion on last turn, so it wasnt his drive was so much better than everyone elses. while it did make me a better rider being determined to catch him, it was hard to believe. he never fessed up , always said he spent lots of time jetting the carbs..etc.... 15 years later, he "broke" he admitted to doing "stuff" ;what it was, he wouldnt say. "thats racing" i guess we could have protested, but thats not my style.