Ice mode does more harm than good, with video example - Page 2 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 35 (permalink) Old 04-25-2016, 05:13 PM

Interesting stuff, cyow5. Very cool that you program ABS systems for race cars. I had no idea how sensitive they were (brake pads even) and I like your broom analogy, haha.

Are ABS systems usually controlled from the ECU? Sorry if that is a dumb question but I am new to this. Because if so I wonder if you could switch ecu's (or?) from a wrecked car that you knew didn't do the ICE mode "thing" (like my Exige vs my former Elise) and solve the issue without much fuss.

Just a thought.

Whatever controls the programming it sees like there must be different settings from the factory on our cars otherwise more people would experience it more often (I may be wrong but it seems like not that many people have had it happen). That could explain the difference between cars going into ICE mode, or not, under very similar circumstances (stock brakes, LSS wheels, R888's on both cars in my case).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #22 of 35 (permalink) Old 04-25-2016, 07:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Car-chitect View Post
Interesting stuff, cyow5. Very cool that you program ABS systems for race cars. I had no idea how sensitive they were (brake pads even) and I like your broom analogy, haha.

Are ABS systems usually controlled from the ECU? Sorry if that is a dumb question but I am new to this. Because if so I wonder if you could switch ecu's (or?) from a wrecked car that you knew didn't do the ICE mode "thing" (like my Exige vs my former Elise) and solve the issue without much fuss.

Just a thought.