The Lotus Cars Community banner
  • Hi there! Why not register as a user to enjoy all of the benefits of the site? You may register here. When you register, please pick a username that is non-commercial. If you use a name that appears on any search engine commercially, you must pick another name, whether it applies to you or not. Commercial usernames are for supporting vendor use only. If you want to become a supporting vendor and grow your business, please follow this link. Thanks!

Bad Alternator

21K views 35 replies 23 participants last post by  fzust 
#1 ·
My Elise is out of warranty now (I've had it 3 years), the alternator isn't charging the battery and LOA says it's 1700 to replace, isn't this a $200 part?

#4 ·
You could buy alot of tools for $1700. Mechanics wanted $1800 to rebuild the top end on a Bronco II I had. No way. I bought the manuals and did it myself (I am NOT a mechanic) for under $500. I did get a little something extra, though. A nice scar on my forehead where I clocked myself with the ratchet handle.

Seriously, if it were me I would consider doing it myself if that $1700 is true.

#5 ·
Well, the 1700 is true as far as the price they gave me, but what I'd like to know from anyone here is if a stock alternator from another 2zzge engine would work or if there is something special about the "lotus" alternator?

#6 ·
I even go one step farther than "doing it myself" - I don't replace alternators, I rebuild them. The parts are often hard to find (search the 'net) but they are relatively cheap. I've had to rebuild the alternator in my truck twice now - instead of $170 for a rebuild alternator from the parts store, it was $25 for replacement brushes. The second time was $30 for new bearings (solvent go in the bearings and ran them dry). Taking apart and rebuilding an alternator is fairly trivial.