The Lotus Cars Community banner
  • Hi there! Why not register as a user to enjoy all of the benefits of the site? You may register here. When you register, please pick a username that is non-commercial. If you use a name that appears on any search engine commercially, you must pick another name, whether it applies to you or not. Commercial usernames are for supporting vendor use only. If you want to become a supporting vendor and grow your business, please follow this link. Thanks!

Check your toe link!

110K views 180 replies 82 participants last post by  shinoo 
#1 ·
Please be sure to check yours. Had a track day on Thursday, today I changed oil and checked the links. Both were lose. Be sure to check or they could ruin your day.

-Rob

#151 ·
I am new to owning an Elise, but during a recent oil change I noticed that they weren't quite straight. I took a picture so I could ask around. The car is currently in storage for the winter but in this condition is it serious enough to not drive it until I tighten them or will that be fine for some non-track driving until I get the sector 111 brace on it?

#152 ·
their reason for existing, is to move around. what is important is that the two ends are 90deg. out of phase (twist) so that there is max. freedom for them to move around. you can grab them and twist them even... but they will just rotate as soon as you drive it.

you do not "need" a brace... i tracked my car plenty of times without it - but a brace is a good thing, and i do have one now. if you run slicks, you deff. want a brace. if you are tracking a lot, you should get a brace.

the torque IS important, and routine maintenance of it. if the loosen, they wear, if they wear, they fail.

#153 ·