The Lotus Cars Community banner
  • Hi there! Why not register as a user to enjoy all of the benefits of the site? You may register here. When you register, please pick a username that is non-commercial. If you use a name that appears on any search engine commercially, you must pick another name, whether it applies to you or not. Commercial usernames are for supporting vendor use only. If you want to become a supporting vendor and grow your business, please follow this link. Thanks!

Installing BOE 550 injectors, does this look right?

3K views 18 replies 6 participants last post by  Pants Inc 
#1 · (Edited)
Everything seemed to go pretty smoothly.

But this is my first time installing injectors and I guess I expected things to go inside each other more LOL.

But really it just seems like the base of the injector just snugs into the rail and then the head of the injector just snugs into the block, and then you bolt everything down. Can someone "in the know' take a look at these pics and tell me if this all looks correct. I guess the thing that is bothering me most is this little blue squishy bushing where the injector meets the rail. Based on the way things fit together I would assume this is just some sort of spring to cushion the injector against the rail. But I want to make sure it's nothing stupid like I was supposed to shove that inside the rail.

I would rather ask a stupid question than burn my car down. Thanks!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
pics?

#5 ·
Yep - looks like you did it right.. Just check for leaks in the rail before starting the car (turn on the ignition to pressurize the system) just to be certain they are seated properly into the rail...

BTW - your engine looks a lot cleaner than mine ;)

John D.

#6 ·