Speedometer not working? - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 05:30 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
ahofste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dubai
Posts: 135
Question Speedometer not working?

After months of waiting I finally got my car (I shipped it form LA to Dubai). The car drives like a dream and I'm really happy with it.

I had one brief incident though. One time the speedometer didn't work. After stopping and starting the engine again (I actually went and got fuel) the speedometer worked again.
The speedometer was working before and has been working ever since.

I tried to do a search on the forum, but couldn't really find any related posts.
Any ideas on what could have happened?

Thanks

2007 Chrome Orange Lotus Elise
2003 Starlight Black Lotus Elise 111S (sold)
ahofste is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 07:00 AM
Registered User
 
RichS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,366
Your Elise decided that it was just too damn hot in Dubai for the speedometer to work.

Once you taught it a lessen by shutting it off, it decided to cooperate.


"Against logic there is no armor like ignorance."
-- Laurence J. Peter
RichS is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 08:15 AM
Registered User
 
Bgwilly31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 1,897
The speedos are also inaccurate as well. Its just a lotus speedo thing. It will be ok.

-White Rossion Q1

07 white Exige S--Sold
04' Lexus Turbo IS300 BSM "track car"
--SOLD

"Straight lines dont mean sh**"
Bgwilly31 is offline  
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 11:21 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
ahofste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dubai
Posts: 135
I figured it probably is nothing to worry about. I was just wondering whether this is a common feature of the speedometers. Is on a 07 model the speedometer also connected through the 'fly by wire' concept? Could it be related to that?

2007 Chrome Orange Lotus Elise
2003 Starlight Black Lotus Elise 111S (sold)
ahofste is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-20-2009, 06:40 PM
Registered User
 
dereklburt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 195
I had the same thing happen but now it has happened to me several times. If I shut the car off, remove the key, and restart it the speedo works? This is now happening every 5th or 6th time I drive the car. Any thoughts?

2006 Elise turbo-(2 Wicked) SOON TO BE A TURBO V6 Monster
dereklburt is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-20-2009, 10:28 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
ahofste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dubai
Posts: 135
I've used the car a couple of times since and so far it hasn't happened again. If the speedometer is also connected through the fly-by-wire concept I would suspect a loose connection somewhere.
Did it start after your car got turbo-ed? If it is fly by wire does the ECU control the speedometer? Maybe there is a bug in the ECU reflash?

(Please note these are just questions, not based on any real knowledge... ;-) )

2007 Chrome Orange Lotus Elise
2003 Starlight Black Lotus Elise 111S (sold)
ahofste is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-21-2009, 07:12 AM
OSX Black hat
 
charliex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Las Vegas , NV
Posts: 10,000
the cluster has a shutdown mode if it detects problems in the can bus,but usually the whole thing shuts down,if you only loose the speed and not the rpm or fuel, then its not the can bus since the data for everything is encoded in one packet, so if its getting some, its getting it all.

so if it is just limited to speed either the wheel speed sensors aren't all working, intermittent connection or the cluster itself might be at fault the motors have been know to go bad.

Black Exige S / Elan M100. Don't run a smaller pulley without an upgraded fuel pump! http://www.goth.am ecu stuff.. New reflash box coming soon!
charliex is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-21-2009, 08:40 AM
Registered User
 
EastCityBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
I was having the same problem last year. Over the winter I put in a BWR supercharger so I had the ECU out for a new tune. This spring I have put on over 1000 km with no problems. Speedo worked fine, so I thought it might have been an ECU contact problem.
I drove the car to work yesterday for the first time this year and on the way home last night, no speedo. Everything else was working fine. The one thought I had was, could it be heat related? Yesterday was the first day this year that it got quite warm here. The car sat in the sun all day, while it normally hides in a garage. Last year I was having problems in the summer during hot weather. I think it just misses the cool damp English weather...

2007 KG elise
EastCityBoy is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-21-2009, 05:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Similar Problem

I have a similar recurring problem on my 2000 Sport 160. The Speedo, generally works for the first mile or so of each day, and will then drop down to zero. Stoping and starting the car doesn't seem to have any effect. The fuel gague and rev counter always work fine. Is it likey that the temperature in the engine bay has an effect on this or could it be a short? I've noticed that the weather makes no difference rain or shine still the same.

Any ideas?

Cheers.

Dave.

Last edited by graystokes; 12-21-2009 at 05:28 AM. Reason: bad grammar
graystokes is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-17-2011, 03:24 AM
Registered User
 
Minnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,672
I tired the reset but mines reading about 40-60 mph too high and about 3500.
Minnis is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-17-2011, 03:55 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Speedometers are warrantied for 7 years in;
New Jersey
Connecticut
Oregon
Washington
Rhode Island
New York
Maine
Massachusetts
Pennsylvania
New Mexico
Florida
Colorado
Arizona
Utah
SirLotus is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-18-2012, 05:04 PM
Registered User
 
Wexler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirLotus View Post
Speedometers are warrantied for 7 years in;
New Jersey
Connecticut
Oregon
Washington
Rhode Island
New York
Maine
Massachusetts
Pennsylvania
New Mexico
Florida
Colorado
Arizona
Utah
Can anyone confirm this?

Speedo went out on me tonight...not a huge deal...and after reading this thread and considering it's been pretty hot out, I am thinking it's heat related...I hope.

Any suggestions? I'd prefer to attempt to fix it myself.

2007 Elise - starlight black, biscuit
1967 Sunbeam Alpine SV - mediterranean blue, black
1985 Porsche 928S - Guards Red, black, manual
2004 X-type - manual, white onyx, champagne, 2 kid seats.
Wexler is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 03:49 AM
Registered User
 
Wexler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 559
I just read that on the S1 models the speedo sensor is on the left rear wheel...and coincidentally I just swopped out wheels...

Could this be the problem? My car is an '07.

2007 Elise - starlight black, biscuit
1967 Sunbeam Alpine SV - mediterranean blue, black
1985 Porsche 928S - Guards Red, black, manual
2004 X-type - manual, white onyx, champagne, 2 kid seats.
Wexler is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 07:31 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NOVA
Posts: 191
Had this issue as well. Situation was driving in stop and go traffic in 100* heat, got a CEL and no speedo as well. Next day speedo back and after a few ignition cycles no CEL. Have not had issue since.

Sport Elise #45 - Lotus Sport Wheels, 888s, Really Light Stuff Oil Line Kit, Raptor Exhaust, ACT Clutch, Jim Clayton Built Head, Maintained by RRTracing.com
mOlson is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 08:44 AM
Registered User
 
Wexler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by mOlson View Post
Had this issue as well. Situation was driving in stop and go traffic in 100* heat, got a CEL and no speedo as well. Next day speedo back and after a few ignition cycles no CEL. Have not had issue since.
Thanks!

I tried it again this morning with no result...

2007 Elise - starlight black, biscuit
1967 Sunbeam Alpine SV - mediterranean blue, black
1985 Porsche 928S - Guards Red, black, manual
2004 X-type - manual, white onyx, champagne, 2 kid seats.
Wexler is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-16-2013, 01:03 PM
Registered User
 
Piasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Naperville
Posts: 204
Can the instrument cluster be de-powered by removing a fuse?
Piasa is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-16-2013, 01:42 PM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piasa View Post
Can the instrument cluster be de-powered by removing a fuse?
Try F7.
Michael
SirLotus is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-17-2013, 07:37 AM
Registered User
 
Piasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Naperville
Posts: 204
SirLotus;

My 2005 manual labels F7 as "Ignition services". Is this the one you are suggesting?

If the instrument panel could be reset at the fuse, why would one do it at the battery, with all the inherent potential difficulties such a process could cause?

Regards,

d
Piasa is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-17-2013, 08:11 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piasa View Post
SirLotus;

My 2005 manual labels F7 as "Ignition services". Is this the one you are suggesting?

If the instrument panel could be reset at the fuse, why would one do it at the battery, with all the inherent potential difficulties such a process could cause?

Regards,

d
F7 only controls the the warning light indications. R4 supplies power to the ECU of which the CAN bus output goes to the instrument cluster providing "speedo, fuel, MIL, oil press, tach, water temp, shift light and tire pressure.
Yes, you could just disconnect the battery.
Michael
SirLotus is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-11-2018, 11:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 12
Hi, My speedo hasn't been working for a while now. OBD2 can read the speed, so i don't think it is a speed sensor issue.

I tried reset, as well as re-connecting the Speedo wiring connection at the back, but still didnt' help. Tach and everything do work though.

Anyone has the electrical map for the S2 Elise/Exige? trying to see maybe there is a broken connection somewhere.

Thanks,
JCWMINI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Maintenance and Repairs.

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome