throttle cable too short after new throttle body - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
masheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 801
throttle cable too short after new throttle body

the most annoying thing: just finished installing a new throttle body on my 2005 Elise (got it from Toyota) and it all went smoothly until the very end, after i attached the throttle cable to the throttle body, and found that the cable is now too short, even after taking up all the adjustment slack there is (by moving the two adjustment nuts away from the body all the way to the end of the threads) - the throttle is partly open (judging by the quarter pulley not reaching its rest stop nut, by about 5 mm) even when the throttle is fully closed.

i checked the throttle pedal and it looks like it is already as far up as it will go - so i can't get any more slack that way.

i have couple of ideas to try next, but they are a little wacky, so i am looking for better ideas:
1) i am thinking of grinding down the end of the adjustment threads on the cable so that i can move the adjustments nuts even further. the extra adjustment of almost one nut width might be enough.
2) there is some slack in the cable sheath where it goes around the pedals. so i could tighten that up, but that means unfastening all the cable sheath fasteners as it winds around the car, which seems quite involved and it's difficult to get the car up in the air where it happens to sit at the moment, and it's currently not drivable like this. and to help with that idea, i could use instructions anybody for replacing the cable - i have not been able to find any.

and the weird thing is: why is this even happening? - the throttle body i got looked to be the same as what was on the car, although i didn't take the time to compare the quarter-pulley in detail with the old (could still do that).

and why did i even get a new throttle body? - the old one wore out some space between the valve and the body which was causing high idle - it's a known problem described elsewhere (i had a hacked fix that worked for couple of years but doesn't anymore).

looking for better ideas to solve this. thanks!

Last edited by masheen; 03-30-2019 at 02:21 PM.
masheen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 02:28 PM
Registered User
 
cyow5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NoVa
Posts: 3,837
As a fellow sufferer of the sloppy high idle, I know how annoying this is. My understanding is that the quadrant (the arm the cable pulls) is unique to the Lotus. The cable routing is different than in the Toyota FWD applications, so this lead to the subtle difference that, in turn, put a weird load on the throttle and produces the slop. That all being said, I am just repeating what I have heard with no sources. Can you try to replace the Toyota quadrant with the Lotus one?

"Lots Of Trouble; Usually Serious"
cyow5 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 03:28 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
masheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 801
i can try moving over the old quadrant. not sure how difficult that is - i think i remember reading that there is some difficulty with that (when people where trying to fix the original load problem). also, i wonder whether the old quadrant will just fit without problems. so i am hoping for some encouragement from others who had done the same.

maybe i should try just moving it and see how far i get before running into problems. it's seems like an easier thing to try then other options.
masheen is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
masheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 801
well, it was not difficult to take off the quandrant off the old (original) throttle body. it's all a little finicky because once you take off the quandrant you have to make sure the spring that does pop up and unwind, by holding everything in place with your hands.

waiting for any advice or warnings before i attempt to replace the quandrant on the new with the old one.
masheen is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
masheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 801
success! i think.

first, i succeeded in moving the old quadrant to the new body. the car seemed to run ok in the garage, except for some idle hunting, and almost stalling when revving it up. then i adjusted the pedal stop and cable nuts near the throttle body, according to instructions, as far as i remembered them.

then i reset all the codes and went for a drive. finally driving the car after a long time was great. no craziness with the throttle. no stickiness of course. however, the car would stall at every stop around town, and after restarting it, the idle would be low and hunting up and down. then after about 10-20 minutes of highway driving i got back into city traffic and idling seemed normal. i am hoping it's just that the engine controller needed to adjust to the new sensors/actuators on the throttle body, but we'll see - maybe it is warm-up related.

so either the engine controller already got used it and it's all good, or i still might need to do some idle speed tuning - i think i remember that is something that can be done, but i am not sure.

and the high idle code is gone and the emissions self-tests are under way - i expect with some more driving it will be ready for pass smog testing.
masheen is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 09:38 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
masheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 801
it's all good now: after some more driving the hunting idle and stalling at stops went away. and my OBDII monitor is showing that all the emissions stuff is passing.
masheen is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 09:55 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
masheen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 801
And here are the pictures of swapped parts. The old throttle body with the new quadrant is useless, but I needed to put the new quadrant someplace so that the parts don't get lost and so that its spring does not pop out.
Attached Images
   
masheen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Maintenance and Repairs.

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aftermarket intake kit / oem cable throttle body bbs350z Parts For Sale 5 04-01-2014 04:39 PM
WTB: Drive by cable throttle body Jim-C Parts Wanted 3 12-15-2011 06:01 AM
Requesting pics of your cable based throttle body? robains Powertrain (Engine, Transmission, etc) 4 11-14-2010 06:52 PM
WTB: ECU for 2 ZZ engine cable throttle body MasterTuner Parts For Sale 2 09-25-2009 05:19 AM
Am I Too Short or Expecting Too Much?? Yeti Track and Technique 9 03-30-2008 06:31 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome