TOAD pro OBD and ECU scanner - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-06-2018, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Akshaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 175
TOAD pro OBD and ECU scanner

Hello all! Iíve done some research on scan tools for the last few days and have come
across TOAD in quite a few places. I looked through the forum but couldnít find anyone on here that has used it before. Iím looking for a laptop based system that I can use across several different car manufactures and models (specifically lotus, Nissan, Mercedes, Audiís, range rovers, etc.). Anyone have any experiences with this system? Iím sorry if this has been talked about in another thread. I couldnít find any that talked about this system specifically.
TOAD PRO: OBD Scanner Software for ELM327 on OBDII OBD2 Cars


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Akshaya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-06-2018, 07:09 PM
Registered User
 
Obeisance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SE MI
Posts: 565
Since it is based on an ELM327 hardware interface, I think that it is overpriced at $127 (If i scanned the website well enough).

The android phone application, Torque, interfaces with the ELM327 very simply and is inexpensive too. Any serial terminal application can also send special queries and commands to the ELM327 according to its data sheet:

https://www.elmelectronics.com/wp-co...7/ELM327DS.pdf

Then, the end user would interpret bytes according to:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OBD-II_PIDs

Thus the entire set of behaviors that the TOAD software is capable of can be replicated with a little bit of data processing on the end user's side.

I guess that if "time is money" then this may not be worth the effort, but the 'magic' that controls the OBD queries is all in the ELM327, as far as I know (so the inexpensive software suites can also be just as capable).
Obeisance is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-06-2018, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Akshaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 175
Interesting. I didnít think that you were able to do any ecu/tuning manipulation with other apps like torque?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Akshaya is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-07-2018, 02:31 AM
Registered User
 
Obeisance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SE MI
Posts: 565
i don't know much about ecu re-flashing in general, so if this software works with your other cars then maybe it is worthwhile.

as far as reprogramming a lotus with the ELM327, i don't think it has the capability to be set to non-standard baud rates necessary for the '05-'07 white dashboard cars which use a k-line interface for reflashing.
Obeisance is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-07-2018, 04:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 1,901
from the website:

>>>>However, first and most important step is: You must FIRST find a tuner that supports your car model/year.<<<

yeah, that would be the important part
exigegus is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-07-2018, 04:49 AM
He's on fire!
 
jds62f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,043
I could be wrong but the TOAD website reads like an infomercial to me.

"Give a man a match, and he'll be warm for a minute, but set him on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
jds62f is online now  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-07-2018, 07:32 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Akshaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 175
Haha it did for a bit. I read reviews on other sites and mostly everything was positive so I felt a little better about it. Really for the lotus, I would just do the basics like read and clear codes. I got a CEL from my intake from not ďbreaking it inĒ properly so I needed to clear that and do it again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Akshaya is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-12-2018, 06:35 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Akshaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 175
Figured I would try one more time! Anyone have any info?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Akshaya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Maintenance and Repairs.

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome