Lotus Appoints Swizz Beats Vice President Of Creative Design And Global Marketing - Page 5 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #81 of 107 (permalink) Old 08-22-2011, 03:38 AM

I just saw this Swizz Beats announcement and I have mixed feelings about this. Obviously we're committed to the ideals of Lotus engineering and racing heritage, but at the end of the day some new buyers have to get hooked.

Here's my logic: I'm a young medical doctor with a healthy income. All my friend-colleagues are graduates of around the same few years. Within a year or two, all of them went out and bought a fancy sports car. We all went from leased Wranglers and Honda Accords to several 911s, one Nissan GTR, an Audi R8, even a Ferrari California. I'm the only one with a Lotus (Elise SC). Not one of those guys even considered a Lotus, simply because it's not ubiquitous. Several of them asked me where I would even go to buy it or service it (one dealer in the city, not even a dedicated Lotus dealer).

Granted, these guys are not true car guys - most of them bought their cars because of pent up need to conspicuously consume after a decade of debt and living like poor students (except for the leased cars) and because after you go from broke to a few hundred thousand a year you feel like you're on top of the world. However, some of them are now tracking their cars twice-weekly and they're starting to look at Lotus more seriously - I've been asked to lend the car to go tracking, and one is considering an Evora now when the lease on the 911 is up (next year). Had I not brought the example, none of them would have even heard of Lotus, let alone considered it.