Is it okay to hate the New Elise? Set me straight. - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old 09-18-2010, 08:32 PM Thread Starter

Is it okay to hate the New Elise? Set me straight.

I am relatively new to the Lotus community (about 13,000 miles). I love how simple and fun my 2005 Elise is to work on and the amount of performance that can be had from the 2zz-ge with a few easy mods. It's also pretty convenient that companies like Monkeywrench Racing have done so much with this engine already! I love the minimalist philosophy of Colin Chapman and as a motorcycle rider who hadn't had a car in 3 years I was floored by how head over heels I am for this car, but seeing where the new cars are going kind of bothers me.

Screw the new Elise. -200cc of displacement? Check. -56HP? Check. +150 lbs? Check. -9 ft. lbs. of torque? Check. +0.5 seconds on 0-60 time? Check. Unnecessary options like backup sensors and cruise control (cruise control!)? Check. Screw you Proton. Get off my precious Lotus!

I have been taken aback by the history and legacy of Lotus and to see the direction Proton is taking Lotus really bothers me. They have made this car tacky and turned their backs on the history of the brand. It's a car company, not a hotel chain!

I guess what I'm hoping to accomplish by this rant is for someone to comfort me or at least confirm that I'm not crazy by thinking that those of us with our 2010 and older vehicles are partaking in the last great products Lotus has to offer.

Mods are asleep, post Subarus
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 (permalink) Old 09-18-2010, 11:24 PM

This is history repeating itselft. Chapman started with the Seven, Elite and Eleven and then started moving into luxury cars like the Eclat, the Excel and the Esprit. Then Lotus launched the Elise and Exige and now we're back to 'luxury' with Evora and Esprit. We just need to hang around until they get back to basics again :-)