Instrument Cluster Issue - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By fLA
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-31-2011, 06:18 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
KoenigElise05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 218
Instrument Cluster Issue

My Instrument Cluster started acting up the other day. It will work perfectly fine then the tach, speedo, fuel gauge, and temp won't work. It still illuminates and the dummy lights still work (seat belt, e-brake lights). If I tap the front of the cluster they will work until I go over a bump. It will continue to do this during a drive.

Seems like a loose wire in the back. I've searched the forum and can't find any good instructions on how to take it out and check the connections. I'm mechanically inclinded but always like something to go by so nothing gets broken in the process. Anyone have some good instructions.

By the way my car is a 2005 Elise.

05 Elise - Magnetic Blue
05 Elise - Magnetic Blue
06 Elise - Aubergine Purple
KoenigElise05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-31-2011, 07:31 PM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoenigElise05 View Post
My Instrument Cluster started acting up the other day. It will work perfectly fine then the tach, speedo, fuel gauge, and temp won't work. It still illuminates and the dummy lights still work (seat belt, e-brake lights). If I tap the front of the cluster they will work until I go over a bump. It will continue to do this during a drive.

Seems like a loose wire in the back. I've searched the forum and can't find any good instructions on how to take it out and check the connections. I'm mechanically inclinded but always like something to go by so nothing gets broken in the process. Anyone have some good instructions.

By the way my car is a 2005 Elise.
Try just disconnecting the battery.
Michael
SirLotus is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-31-2011, 10:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 199
I had this problem with my 05. I put up with it for about 4 months. I like to let a bunch of issues pile up before I go to the hassle of taking it to the shop.

they said a new pod was about 1000 dollars. When they go bad, they replace the whole thing, they won't tinker with it. They also said that the 05' had a pod failure rate of about 10 percent right off the boat and that I was lucky the pod had lasted 6 years.

Anyway...the pod repaired itself. When they got around to looking at it, it was working fine. Maybe they had disconnected the battery to do other work, like 'TheViper' suggested. I've had no more trouble with it.
DeathTrap is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-01-2011, 04:45 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,912
Possibly, not generally known, is that beyond the factory 3 year, 36,000 mile warranty, is the "Emissions" warranty.
If you are fortunate enough to have your car registered in either California, New Jersey, Connecticut, Oregon, Washington, Rhode Island, New York, Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, New Mexico, Florida or Colorado, there is a CARB, 7 year/70,000mile warranty on;
Catalytic Converter, heat shields, gaskets & fasteners
ECM
Throttle Body
Exhaust Manifold
Fuel Tank
Fuel Level Sender & Seal
IAC Valve
Knock Sensor
Intake Manifold & Gasket
Fuel Pressure Regulator Valve
Fuel Level Vent Valve
Roll Over Valve
Instrument Pack
Main Harness

If your car is registered in other States, there is an Federal 8year/80,000mile warranty on only the;
Catalytic Converter, heat shields. gaskets & fasteners
ECM

Cheers,
Michael
SirLotus is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-26-2011, 06:14 AM
Registered User
 
Subarubrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 309
Mine was one of the early failures, what I found was cracking in the solder joints for the pins that the connector plugs into. This is a pretty common failure with through the board pins, I see this all the time in pinball PCBs where there is vibration and the pins supporting the connector, just like in our cluster.

My fix was to disassemble the cluster and reflow the solder with some extra. I bet allot of people paid $$ to replace perfectly good clusters that just needed a simple repair.

Like classic video games and pinball, check out the Retrogaming Roundup Show, available on iTunes and our own website.
Subarubrat is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-26-2011, 06:56 AM
Registered User
 
wachu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 31
Mine was due to lose connection at the ECU. Might want to check that. Haven't had an issue since.
wachu is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-19-2011, 03:34 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
KoenigElise05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 218
Fixed!! Loose connection behind cluster.

05 Elise - Magnetic Blue
05 Elise - Magnetic Blue
06 Elise - Aubergine Purple
KoenigElise05 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-17-2011, 08:04 AM
Registered User
 
usofrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stevensville, MI
Posts: 711
I'm going to post this in two threads, but here has been my experience with my instrument cluster. I'll tell you the results first, which is kind of a summary of all the previous advice.

I've had intermittent speedo/tach/gas going to 0. Disconnecting the 3 wire plug shows the same problem. The lots of wire plug has the power and all of the notification lights. I believe the 3 wires are the canbus connection. When you turn the car on it will attempt recheck the connectivity (I don't believe disconnecting the battery is required or additionally helpful). Power surges from the AC or HID headlights can cause it to reset and recheck the connectivity as well.

The fix is to check/improve all of the points along the canbus connection. My connectors were not loose. So, I decided to attempt to get a better connection within the 3 pin connector. I was able to take apart the 3 cable connector and bend the internal contact to intrude further into the pin. I'm not sure if this has fixed the problem, because it is intermittent, but I didn't make it worse. I'll report back later if it doesn't work. I have some pictures of taking apart the connector, but I haven't copied them to my computer yet. I can share them if requested.

How I determined the above:
My cluster would stop working seemingly randomly. Sometimes it would fail when I turned it on, and sometimes it would be while driving. I successfully used turning on my AC to get it to start working again. That worked for a while, but wasn't perfect. (I never tried turning on my HID's to see if that could cause the reset as well.)

Taking off the instrument cluster's main difficulties involve making sure you find all 6 screws on the bottom shroud, and having confidence in pulling out the upper shroud. Once out, there are just a few more screws to get at, and it comes out easily enough.

I tried all 3 ways of connecting the connectors. Connecting just the 3 wire does nothing. Connecting just the lots of wires connector allows it to turn on and display the error lights, but does not show any speed/tach/gas. Connecting both works like normal.

If your display has gone from not updating to updating, the easiest way to get it to get the gas to update is to turn off and on the key. When it first starts, it reads the gas level, then it smooths the value from there. So, if you are showing 0, it will take a long time to smooth it up to the actual value.

The turning off/on the HID/AC will only 'fix' the problem if the connectivity has been restored. Because it is an intermittent problem, it may take some jostling to reconnect.

Also, as brokenboy said above, if your needles are not settling to 0, there is a way to reset the needles in the manual.

2005 Laser Blue Elise, base model (with 2 oil coolers), Bridgestone RE-01R 205/45/16+245/40/17, 4Tress harness bar, 6-Point Schroth harnesses, Cup Car Ohlins, Blackwatch Racing adjustable anti-sway bar, ekological HID kit, Sector 111 rear panel eliminator, 2bular 7" single tip exhaust, Sector111 DOWNLow seat, Sector111 tiny mirror, Braille battery, LidBone, multivex side mirrors, snorkel delete, infinity kappa 42.7 front speakers, acousti-stuff behind rear speakers. It adds up so quickly.
usofrob is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 05:41 AM
Registered User
 
usofrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stevensville, MI
Posts: 711
I have an update with a fix that has worked for a few weeks:
https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f129...ailure-111047/

2005 Laser Blue Elise, base model (with 2 oil coolers), Bridgestone RE-01R 205/45/16+245/40/17, 4Tress harness bar, 6-Point Schroth harnesses, Cup Car Ohlins, Blackwatch Racing adjustable anti-sway bar, ekological HID kit, Sector 111 rear panel eliminator, 2bular 7" single tip exhaust, Sector111 DOWNLow seat, Sector111 tiny mirror, Braille battery, LidBone, multivex side mirrors, snorkel delete, infinity kappa 42.7 front speakers, acousti-stuff behind rear speakers. It adds up so quickly.
usofrob is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-26-2016, 02:19 AM
fLA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by usofrob View Post
I have an update with a fix that has worked for a few weeks:
https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f129...ailure-111047/

Your link doesn´t work anymore...
Can you help on that?

Thank you.

Flavio
fLA is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-26-2016, 07:58 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by fLA View Post
Your link doesn´t work anymore...

Can you help on that?



Thank you.



Flavio

Disconnect the cluster, check all the connections and reconnect. Usually the cable is loose. It is easy to take the cluster apart and check the internal connections.
Coyne is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-29-2016, 03:06 PM
fLA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 8
Tanks Coyne
Coyne likes this.
fLA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Electrical

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome