Need help for Shift-i light installation - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By LionZoo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 06:13 AM Thread Starter
swd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 111
Need help for Shift-i light installation

I ordered a Shift-i light.

My mechanical knowledge are limited so i would like to know where and how i should tap the 3 wires (tacho-ignition-ground). I saw a pic with the MSD pickup signal module, but if i could avoid buying this part (60$), i would appreciate.

BTW, my radio/stereo (Alpine) is out right now, so if there is a possibility to use some wire there, let me know.

Thanks
swd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 07:13 AM
Registered User
 
andy7777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 831
You know our cars come with a shift light, right? I'm assuming you're talking Elige, otherwise nevermind...
andy7777 is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 07:16 AM Thread Starter
swd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 111
I knew this was coming...
I know that red shift light, but i wanted something that i CAN see when it's time to shift...
swd is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 07:56 AM
Registered User
 
Apex_in_sno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by swd View Post
I knew this was coming...
I know that red shift light, but i wanted something that i CAN see when it's time to shift...
Ground, well anywhere, ignition you can pull of the radio harness.
Tach signal, you can take from the red-black lead from coil pack on cylinder # 1.
Now if reading that makes you weak in the knees, then get the MSD.

There is no tack signal anywhere in the dash that your shift light will understand.

VFII, Eliseparts Sequential, Geartronics Paddle shift.
You name it, I've probably got that installed too...
1864lbs, full tank
Otherwise, it's bone stock....
Apex_in_sno is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 08:06 AM Thread Starter
swd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 111
What is the difference between the red/black wire and the green one on this pic?

And what is the advantage other than not cutting the wire with the MSD?




Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex_in_sno View Post
Ground, well anywhere, ignition you can pull of the radio harness.
Tach signal, you can take from the red-black lead from coil pack on cylinder # 1.
Now if reading that makes you weak in the knees, then get the MSD.

There is no tack signal anywhere in the dash that your shift light will understand.
Attached Images
 
swd is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 09:07 AM
Registered User
 
Apex_in_sno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by swd View Post
What is the difference between the red/black wire and the green one on this pic?

And what is the advantage other than not cutting the wire with the MSD?
Green (for all coils) goes to fuse R7, which then goes to the battery, it's always hot, if the MSD works on that lead it's a fluke.
The red-black is the trigger for that coil from the ecu.

If you're good with wiring, there is no advantage.
Be sure to get the wiring diagram and understand how to read it if you're going to modify the stock harness.

VFII, Eliseparts Sequential, Geartronics Paddle shift.
You name it, I've probably got that installed too...
1864lbs, full tank
Otherwise, it's bone stock....
Apex_in_sno is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 09:53 AM Thread Starter
swd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 111
Thanks!
Would it be okay to use a T-Tap to connect on the red/black wire?
MSD look like a pricey T-Tap to me...?
Or maybe i should just strip, twist and sold the wires together?


[QUOTE=Apex_in_sno;1852779]Green (for all coils) goes to fuse R7, which then goes to the battery, it's always hot, if the MSD works on that lead it's a fluke.
The red-black is the trigger for that coil from the ecu.
swd is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
swd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 111
I received my Shift-i.

I've readed a lot regarding the installation and i can't find anyone who installed this without the MSD...

And they all taped it on the green wire not the red/black...

I've been told by ecliptech that i should not run 3 wires from the coil cause i will pick up a lot of noise...
swd is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 06:51 AM
Registered User
 
Apex_in_sno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by swd View Post
I received my Shift-i.

I've readed a lot regarding the installation and i can't find anyone who installed this without the MSD...

And they all taped it on the green wire not the red/black...

I've been told by ecliptech that i should not run 3 wires from the coil cause i will pick up a lot of noise...
The only wire that needs to come off the coil pack is the trigger itself, red/black. Ground and power you can get off the radio harness or several other places in the dash.

I can guarentee that your shift light (without the msd) will not work off the green wire.

Find some temp power and ground for the light (aux power outlet is good), drag a temp wire from the coilpack red/black, fire the dang thing up see if it works.
Then commit to the final wireing.

I could go on for a good long bit about the different and then proper ways of modifiying auto wireing, however a proper barrel crimp tool, crimps and adhesive shrink are going to cost you more than the MSD in the first place.

So I'm just going to look away while you twist, solder and vinyl tape this thing back together.

I guess giving you current level of understanding in the electrical department,
I would recomend that you get the MSD for your application, it will be the lease amount of hastle and install risk.

You've invested a decent ammount of time in modifying the pod for the display itself, so don't cheese out the remainder of the install with a Hello Kitty splice job.

VFII, Eliseparts Sequential, Geartronics Paddle shift.
You name it, I've probably got that installed too...
1864lbs, full tank
Otherwise, it's bone stock....
Apex_in_sno is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-25-2016, 01:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 27
I use with website for my mod advice and I installed PZ racing sequential shift light.
First i connected tach meter wire but the light did not pick up tach signal.
And I took advice hear from Apex_in_sno and bought MSD tach signal and clipped on red/black wire from coilpack 1.

I did worked!!

So, I would like to say thank you for your information!

Attached Images
   
exigeams is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-25-2016, 03:09 PM
Registered User
 
lobuzz311's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Santa Cruz County, CA
Posts: 570
I was not aware of the PZ racing shift light. The only issue I have is that you have to free rev the engine to the max rpm?!? I really don't want to bring the car to 8k without load! Is that how you had to set yours up?

2005 Elise - Storm Titanium
lobuzz311 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-25-2016, 04:25 PM
Registered User
 
LionZoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brea, CA
Posts: 922
I like your setup. Very similar to mine!

exigeams likes this.

2011 Lotus Elise SC Final Edition 15 of 15 - Ardent Red
LionZoo is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-26-2016, 05:53 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by lobuzz311 View Post
I was not aware of the PZ racing shift light. The only issue I have is that you have to free rev the engine to the max rpm?!? I really don't want to bring the car to 8k without load! Is that how you had to set yours up?

I dont understand your question, my English is second language.

I just set low, both sides Green LED comes on at 6500rpm and center red LED comes on at 8000 rpm and all LED flashes at aprox 8100rpm = my optimum shift up sign.
this set up is easy and did it at park parking place (no residential houses around).

you can set any rpm low and max like 3000rpm and 5000rpm.
was this your question?
exigeams is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-26-2016, 01:37 PM
Registered User
 
lobuzz311's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Santa Cruz County, CA
Posts: 570
Yeah, that answers it. Thanks

2005 Elise - Storm Titanium
lobuzz311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Electrical

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome