Routing wires from engine/trunk into cockpit - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Reiver
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-12-2010, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
carphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,158
Routing wires from engine/trunk into cockpit

06 exige

I've searched and searched. I'm sorry because I know the answer is here.

I am trying to run a wire from the back license-plate to the interior of the cabin (Dash) for installation of a rear camera.

I have the wires from the licenseplate to the trunk, but from there I am a little lost. I've done installations on a lot of cars, but I have to admit, after reading ths forum for so long, I'm scared sh1tless of messing up the clam. so any help is appreciated, as I see people running wires from the battery to the cabin/dash often.

Thank you in advance.
carphoria is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-12-2010, 07:02 PM
Registered User
 
ZJChaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 3,520
driver side front of the trunk there is the grommet for the taillight wiring, use that to get into the engine bay.....from there you have options:
-follow that wiring through the driverside firewall grommet into the interior, and continue under the side sill cover up to the dash
-go to the underside of the engine and follow the shift cables in and go under the center console up to the dash
-go down the inside of the side pods (the wiring will come out inside the dash and avoid the interior entirely for the cleanest install).....that is the most difficult though.

rightseatdriver.
ZJChaser is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-12-2010, 07:05 PM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,912
The usual way is to remove the inside rear plastic bulkhead panel, there you will find 2 alternative routes. In the center is the transmission linkage opening and on the drivers side is a grommet which wires can be pushed through. Check which one suits you.
cheers,
Michael
Quote:
Originally Posted by carphoria View Post
06 exige

I've searched and searched. I'm sorry because I know the answer is here.

I am trying to run a wire from the back license-plate to the interior of the cabin (Dash) for installation of a rear camera.

I have the wires from the licenseplate to the trunk, but from there I am a little lost. I've done installations on a lot of cars, but I have to admit, after reading ths forum for so long, I'm scared sh1tless of messing up the clam. so any help is appreciated, as I see people running wires from the battery to the cabin/dash often.

Thank you in advance.
SirLotus is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-12-2010, 09:03 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
carphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheViper View Post
The usual way is to remove the inside rear plastic bulkhead panel, there you will find 2 alternative routes. In the center is the transmission linkage opening and on the drivers side is a grommet which wires can be pushed through. Check which one suits you.
cheers,
Michael
Thanks to both of you.

I took out a flashlight and shined it down where the drivers side seatbelt goes in, and I see a grommet that looks loose (maybe something has been pulled through before?)

I'll try going through there and see where I get. There is a black shield on the inside of the engine bay blocking my access, I'll just give it the good ol' college try.
carphoria is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-12-2010, 11:18 PM
Registered User
 
apk919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Not Here
Posts: 9,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by carphoria View Post
Thanks to both of you.

I took out a flashlight and shined it down where the drivers side seatbelt goes in, and I see a grommet that looks loose (maybe something has been pulled through before?)

I'll try going through there and see where I get. There is a black shield on the inside of the engine bay blocking my access, I'll just give it the good ol' college try.
The engine bay side of the grommet is wrapped in friction tape. You can get to it from either the driver's side scoop or from the wheel well with the liner removed. Unwrap the tape, run your wiring, and re-wrap when complete.
apk919 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-12-2010, 11:39 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
carphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by apk919 View Post
The engine bay side of the grommet is wrapped in friction tape. You can get to it from either the driver's side scoop or from the wheel well with the liner removed. Unwrap the tape, run your wiring, and re-wrap when complete.
I was downstairs when you wrote this.. too bad, could have saved me some head ache etc. I used a sharp pointy tool with the wire attached to the end of it to get through the drivers side grommet (have removed the scoop, it was easy, wish I read your tip before going downstairs, but with the three screws staring at me from the scoop, I said "*** it" and took the scoop off.

If you look towards the back of the car, you can see over the wheel well the grommet for the trunk, so this is really an ideal location to run the wire.

I get the wire through, but in the process of removing the tape from the tool, strip the wire (and I mean strip as in FUBAR'd it). so I pulled it back out, put the car back together and will go to radio shack tomorrow to see about salvaging the wire

Rewrapping that wires on the grommet will be a royal PITA no?
carphoria is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 12:02 AM
Registered User
 
apk919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Not Here
Posts: 9,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by carphoria View Post
I was downstairs when you wrote this.. too bad, could have saved me some head ache etc. I used a sharp pointy tool with the wire attached to the end of it to get through the drivers side grommet (have removed the scoop, it was easy, wish I read your tip before going downstairs, but with the three screws staring at me from the scoop, I said "*** it" and took the scoop off.

If you look towards the back of the car, you can see over the wheel well the grommet for the trunk, so this is really an ideal location to run the wire.

I get the wire through, but in the process of removing the tape from the tool, strip the wire (and I mean strip as in FUBAR'd it). so I pulled it back out, put the car back together and will go to radio shack tomorrow to see about salvaging the wire
It's all in the timing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by carphoria View Post
Rewrapping that wires on the grommet will be a royal PITA no?
Not really... get yourself a fresh roll of friction tape (Radio Shack probably has some, if not any decent hardware store does), cut about a one foot or so length of it and start wrapping from the grommet backwards...
apk919 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 12:04 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
carphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by apk919 View Post
It's all in the timing...
I guess so. I'm pretty pissed about cutting the wire, I hope radioshack has a fix, otherwise I have to get Sumas to get me another wire (doubtful)

Quote:
Originally Posted by apk919 View Post
Not really... get yourself a fresh roll of friction tape (Radio Shack probably has some, if not any decent hardware store does), cut about a one foot or so length of it and start wrapping from the grommet backwards...
I'll give it a shot. need to fix the wire first.
carphoria is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 05:02 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,912
A little late here, but for future reference. Incidentally, for a couple of small wires there is an alternative to pulling the rear panel. Above the rear window on the Elise there are plastic connectors that hold the inside roll bar trim. If one is removed, wires can be pushed through from the outside to the inside and hidden behind the trim.
Michael
Attached Images
       
SirLotus is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-08-2018, 05:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Arizona
Posts: 254
On an Elise it is so simple to lift the shift Tunnel in the cab (no need to remove the shift knob or e brake handle) simply move the tunnel cover upwards and route your wires....couldn't be easier to get the wires thru from the engine bay forward......took about 20 min.
3 screws in the cup holder...two in the tunnel and lift...you can see daylight thru the grommet to the engine bay.....seats et al in place.
Running wires for a pressure/temp oil gauge.
Much easier than going thru the wheel well....I know, I tried that first as it was recommended.....that is a pita...thru the tunnel is a breeze.
glb likes this.
Reiver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Electrical

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome