Esprit SE, Esprit S4 or Esprit S4s - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-14-2010, 05:29 AM Thread Starter

Esprit SE, Esprit S4 or Esprit S4s

Hi,

I'm going to be in the market for an Esprit reasonably soon (at last) and am looking at the above three (SE, S4, S4s). As you can imagine, everybody is telling me the Esprit is totally unreliable etc.etc. but having done some research it would appear the S4 and S4s in particular are actually not bad on that front. Do you guys share that opinion?

I'm not too bothered about doing work on the car myself - my background is VW, where I've done various conversions including engines into cars that don't want to fit and two wheel to four wheel drive conversions. However, I'd be pretty scared of taking one of these later cars apart to do some major overhaul (and don't really have the time at the moment) and so reliability is my number one priority when buying an Esprit.

Couple of extra questions:
1. Is the SE markedly worse (reliability) than the S4 and S4s
2. Which of the three is "the most reliable"?
3. Can anybody give me any pointers to look out for and share their experiences of what has gone wrong for them (for all Esprits not just the three mentioned)?
4. I have heard the early V8s chew gearboxes, and that later V8s were better, but can someone quantify "better"?

I'm basically trying to get it straight in my mind with regards to the sorts of work I'll be needing to do for each model so I can make my decision based partly on that.