First time Esprit buyer needs advice...please - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-08-2009, 11:47 PM Thread Starter

First time Esprit buyer needs advice...please

Greetings all ---

As you can see from my post count, I'm a newbie to the forum

I'm a long time Ferrari owner, but have always wanted (but not yet owned) an Esprit as well. I've recently made the decision to jump in and snatch one up in the very near future.

So far, I've done the basic research and sought some general advice from others to arrive at the conclusion that I definitely want a V8tt. I've further narrowed my choice down to the model year range of '99-'01 (US spec). With my nascent knowledge of Esprits, I confess that I cannot discern any significant differences between the '99, '00 & '01 cars.

Are there any details I'm missing? Any subtle distinctions among these model years about which I don't know?

Any advice, opinions, or information would be greatly appreciated and will help me make my final decision when the right Esprit comes along

Cheers
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-09-2009, 01:55 AM
98 Esprit V8 Calypso Red

take a look at The Lotus Esprit Fact File. It has all the changes between model years. You should also read everything on that website. It'll help you find the right Esprit.

Last thing, get someone reputable to do a PPI/Compression Test before you buy.

Good Luck,

Alan
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-09-2009, 05:38 AM

If your budget allows I would recommend an 02 or newer, there are some worthwhile improvments.

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-09-2009, 06:55 AM
maz

get a bigger radiator.

www.lotuscarclub.org