TPMS acting up - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 7Likes
  • 2 Post By EYERACE
  • 1 Post By greenisGood
  • 1 Post By 04ESPRIT
  • 3 Post By Add Lightness
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 10:27 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
OnAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 451
TPMS acting up

Hi all!
About 45 miles into a long drive yesterday my TPMS started flashing red, indicating a problem with the front right tire. Instead of seeing the expected pressure readout on the display, it presented me with "E1". Within a couple of seconds the red light went out and the fault cleared. (All tire pressures and temps were normal.) Has anyone else experienced this?

My suspicion is that battery in the sensor is at the end of its life. Anyone know what the life expectancy is on these sensors?

-Mike
2003.5 "Final Edition" Esprit
OnAir is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 12:40 PM
Registered User
 
greenisGood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Near Omaha,Ne.
Posts: 421
This says 5 to 12 years with 7 being average.

https://www.tpmsdirect.com/TPMS_Sens...ries_a/850.htm
greenisGood is online now  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 01:13 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
OnAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenisGood View Post
This says 5 to 12 years with 7 being average.

https://www.tpmsdirect.com/TPMS_Sens...ries_a/850.htm
Thanks for the info greenisGood.

I've had the car for nearly 9 years and have no record of them being replaced prior to this, so I'd say they're lived a long life. It looks like they are a "replace only" part. Would anyone have a source for new ones?

-Mike
2003.5 "Final Edition" Esprit
OnAir is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 01:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Florida
Posts: 201
TPM? TPM!! Someday I hope to meet the idiot that put such on street cars....so I can kick 'em in the head. Long trip = check 'em first, long trip back = check 'em again. In the 20th Century we didn't need no stinking TPM.... and we liked it!
OnAir and SS Lotus Elise like this.
EYERACE is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 01:57 PM
Wingless Wonder
 
carbuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: In the Back of your Mind
Posts: 5,263
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by EYERACE View Post
In the 20th Century we didn't need no stinking TPM....
I guess you never owned a '90s Ford 'Exploder'. You can thank them for TPMS fitment requirement in 2008 and up.

Atwell Haines
'88 Esprit
Succasunna, NJ USA


"Not all angels have wings." - Turbo R
carbuff is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 04:42 AM
Registered User
 
greenisGood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Near Omaha,Ne.
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnAir View Post
Thanks for the info greenisGood.

I've had the car for nearly 9 years and have no record of them being replaced prior to this, so I'd say they're lived a long life. It looks like they are a "replace only" part. Would anyone have a source for new ones?
I would check with JAE Lotus. When I have had them replaced they told me they have "universal fitment ", but I would check with a tire dealer.
OnAir likes this.
greenisGood is online now  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 10:45 AM
Registered User
 
senna's daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 460
I've been driving with a TPMS error message for months now.
senna's daddy is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 03:53 PM
Registered User
 
04ESPRIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 212
SmarTire System Diagnostics

Mike,
I'm thinking it's the tire sensor batteries, though apparently it may also be the receiver unit.
Mine are living on borrowed time.
Attached Images
     
OnAir likes this.
04ESPRIT is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 09:24 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
OnAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 451
Thanks Derik.

That's great information, thanks.

Yeah, I'm leaning towards a weak battery in the one sensor as well. When the error occurred, it was indicating a problem with just one wheel. I suspect that if the receiver had an issue, it would be showing problems with all wheels. Hopefully it lasts until winter and I'll replace all four sensors then.

-Mike
2003.5 "Final Edition" Esprit
OnAir is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 05:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Florida
Posts: 201
Keep checking tires yourself with your gauge, ignore the TPM. "Technology" and robots will never be the answer versus human effort because in the final analysis the tech stuff was invented by some human
EYERACE is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 05:49 AM
Registered User
 
04ESPRIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thumbs up

Mike,
You're welcome, and you're probably right about the receiver being OK and just having an issue with a weak battery at one of the wheel sensors.
I am curious to know what sensors can be used to communicate with the SmarTire system. I haven't driven mine yet this season, but I have had the red blinking (low pressure) light come on during my off-season start-ups in the garage.
I have pdf copies of a couple owners manuals for the system. If you'd like, just send a PM, though I think I have your email saved here somewhere!
Please post updates throughout the driving season if anything changes. I know my journey through the TPMS forest will closely follow yours!
Derik

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnAir View Post
Thanks Derik.

That's great information, thanks.

Yeah, I'm leaning towards a weak battery in the one sensor as well. When the error occurred, it was indicating a problem with just one wheel. I suspect that if the receiver had an issue, it would be showing problems with all wheels. Hopefully it lasts until winter and I'll replace all four sensors then.
04ESPRIT is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 09:36 PM
Registered User
 
Add Lightness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 23
The hate for TPMS always makes me laugh a bit. Yes, of course you can still check your tires with a gauge before you leave, but it's a little hard to do when you are driving down the highway at Interstate speeds! The point of the system is to warn you when there is a problem before it becomes a major problem. Slow leaks become ruined tires and potential accidents when you aren't aware they are deflating. The TPMS will warn you to get off the road while you still have a choice. It's pretty good for a system that requires a tiny bit of maintenance, at most once every 5 years.

The monitors have "exciters" in them that are activated with tire rotation. When they are activated, they communicate the tire pressure back to the receiver more frequently because it assumes you are driving the car. If the car is stationary, they report back much less frequently because there is a little reason to monitor a tire every second that the car isn't moving. In some ways, it makes sense that you'd get longer life out of a monitor on a Lotus because most aren't being driven with the frequency of a normal car, and are therefore reporting tire pressures much less often.

Unfortunately, I don't have the part number for you, but you can get it from the existing monitor. They thread in from the inside of the wheel through the valve stem (in fact, they are the valve stem), but the tire shop doesn't need to completely dismount the tire to replace them. They can just push down the tire to replace, with no need to re-balance. Obviously, the easiest time is when you are putting on new tires, but it will take a shop less than 5 minutes each to replace them. After replacement, you have to learn the new sensor IDs to the receiver, and you are good to go for years.

Jake in St. Louis
carbuff, Erik L and OnAir like this.
Add Lightness is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 05:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Florida
Posts: 201
...and not rebalance.......uhhhh....right.
Part 2:
And we liked it that way
Part 3 TPM
For those who can't feel with their hands/wrists and rears the corners of their cars.
EYERACE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Esprit

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS acting up NichyNeato Lotus Evora 9 09-29-2017 11:00 AM
Alarm/immobilizer no longer works, interior and tach light acting up. EliseRacer Alarm/Immobilizer/CDL 3 05-11-2014 07:18 PM
Help! Alarm acting up!!! pax Maintenance and Repairs. 7 03-07-2010 12:41 PM
Drive by wire acting up? ECPERFORMANCE Powertrain (Engine, Transmission, etc) 8 08-23-2009 03:31 PM
Elise Alarm Acting Up cutter9 General Discussion (Lotus related) 3 01-02-2008 07:14 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome