Codes after BOE CAI install - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-27-2017, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
8Bit Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 73
Codes after BOE CAI install

After a week of driving with the CAI, I got these codes that popped up 2 times. Anyone know if they are related? The first time it clear itself than the 2nd time I just cleared it with a OBD reader.

P0700 / P0751 / P0700 / P1613
Pending P0172
Attached Images
 
8Bit Gary is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-27-2017, 03:36 PM
Registered User
 
2011 chrome orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,049
P0700, P0751 are transmission related codes and P1613 is forced limp home mode.

Limp home mode is triggered by numerous codes to include:

Output shaft speed status (P0721 / P0722 / P0723) and Vehicle Speed sensor status (P0500 / U0122)
Battery Voltage Error (P0562 / P0563)
Input Shaft Speed Error (P0717 / P0718)
Line Pressure Solenoid Error (P0746 / P0748)
Transmission Shift Solenoids Error (P0751 / P0753 / P0756 / P0758 / P0761 / P0763 / P0766 / P0768)
Torque converter Solenoid Error (P0741 / P2757 / P2759 / P2769 / P2770)
Control Module Options Error (P0610)
Comms error with Engine Control Module (U0100 / U0301 / U0401)
Comms error with ESP Control Module (U0122)
Comms error with Yaw Rate Sensor Module (U0123 / U0513)

Your P0172 and P0175 fall under fuel control systems.

I might be totally wrong (have been before!) but I don't see how your transmission codes relate to the CAI. However, the "systems too rich" codes can be attributed to an air leak in the induction system, MAF fault or signs of corrosion or loose wiring connection. So, they MAY be related to the CAI. However, if they show up as "pending", perhaps they didn't trigger a CEL and the transmission codes did.

Did all of the codes pop up at the same time or at different times? Did the TCU fault light also illuminate?
2011 chrome orange is online now  
post #3 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-27-2017, 03:50 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
8Bit Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 73
The traction control came on first then I restarted the car and that went away. I drove for a little bit than the transmission light came on and the (!) came on.
8Bit Gary is offline  
 
post #4 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-27-2017, 04:03 PM
Registered User
 
2011 chrome orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,049
I'm wondering if you had the "pending" rich codes from a different time but they did not throw a CEL and it was a coincidence that they were there at the same time as the trans codes/light. I also don't know how long it takes for pending codes that haven't thrown a CEL to clear themselves (if they will clear themselves at all) or if they will remain in the history until they are manually cleared.

Did you get the exact same codes (including pending) both times? Have you checked the CAI installation?
2011 chrome orange is online now  
post #5 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-27-2017, 04:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 760
Would suggest very carefully checking all of the wiring connections nearby, It's not hard to knock something loose while working, and unless those trans solenoids are somehow vacuum based, having knocked a ground or connector loose is about the only way I can imagine they'd be related.
turbophil likes this.
esseye is online now  
post #6 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-27-2017, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
8Bit Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 73
So I did get the codes at different times in the past.
Attached Images
   
8Bit Gary is offline  
post #7 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-27-2017, 05:45 PM
Plug Whisperer
 
turbophil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kansas City/ Overland Park
Posts: 6,296
I think your car has some pre existing issues that need sorting. These cars are known for wiring harness problems. Has any work been done in that regard?


-Phil


Phil: NASA 2012 and 2014 TT1 Central Champion, 2005 GG Elige, Rev400, 485+whp REV X

2011 Pearl White Evora, BOE Skunk Works 6 SPD 435WHP || 2014 Black Evora Skunk Works IPS 390WHP|| 2011 White Evora Skunk Works IPS 390WHP || 2006 CO Elise, Rev400, Steet Car

____________________________________________

www.boefab.com: We Build Champions | Products-Service-Advice


BOE ClamHinge | BOE TVS SuperCharging, The Most Powerful Track-Worthy Forced Induction | EFI Engine Management | BOE The Essential Fuel Starve Solution| BOE Lotus Tow Package| BOE New-Tech Lotus Race Engines | The Right Oil Filter for Your Lotus | Custom Lotus ECU Tuning


Pain makes man Think. Thinking makes man Wise. Wisdom makes tracking a Lotus Endurable
turbophil is offline  
post #8 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-27-2017, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
8Bit Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 73
Yeah, the wiring hardness and brake switch was taken care of under warranty. I drove the car about 10k miles before installing the CAI. I'll have a professional take a look at it but I wanted to check to see if anyone know anything about it so it will be easier to figure out. The car drives fine but the codes seem to pop up randomly. I'm driving the car more often to see if it will trigger more often but everything seem normal to me.
8Bit Gary is offline  
post #9 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-07-2017, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
8Bit Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 73
Anyone else had the issue with the system being to rich? Checked all the connectors but that code keep popping back up.
8Bit Gary is offline  
post #10 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-07-2017, 11:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 760
For that particular one, I'd make sure you have everything sealed up good and tight. A leak in the intake path could cause that.
trcm likes this.
esseye is online now  
post #11 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-11-2017, 07:29 AM
Registered User
 
agentdr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NorCal, CA
Posts: 1,045
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8Bit Gary View Post
Anyone else had the issue with the system being to rich? Checked all the connectors but that code keep popping back up.
I just installed my BOE over the weekend, and yesterday I too got a system rich code and MIL. Went back through all the connections and made sure nothing was loose and I didn't miss any clamps, etc and couldn't find an issue. I cleared the code and attributed it to the ECU relearning.

2011 Evora NA - Phantom Black | Paprika | MT | 2+.5
agentdr8 is online now  
post #12 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-16-2017, 07:17 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
8Bit Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 73
I think I might figured out the issue. The 4 fresh air inlet to the body was facing and pushed toward the wall of car. So I just adjusted the duct to face more toward the grill. But is the opening of the duct suppose to rest behind the drainage?
Attached Images
 
8Bit Gary is offline  
post #13 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 05:37 AM
Registered User
 
Bobsy Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8Bit Gary View Post
I think I might figured out the issue. The 4 fresh air inlet to the body was facing and pushed toward the wall of car. So I just adjusted the duct to face more toward the grill. But is the opening of the duct suppose to rest behind the drainage?
This is another reason to add the Aluminum Tube that I recommended in Post #831 here :

https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f170...4/index42.html
Bobsy Racer is offline  
post #14 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 06:11 AM
Registered User
 
agentdr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NorCal, CA
Posts: 1,045
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8Bit Gary View Post
I think I might figured out the issue. The 4 fresh air inlet to the body was facing and pushed toward the wall of car. So I just adjusted the duct to face more toward the grill. But is the opening of the duct suppose to rest behind the drainage?
I added the small section of aluminum tubing like @Bobsy Racer recommended and mounted it behind the drainage slot.

2011 Evora NA - Phantom Black | Paprika | MT | 2+.5
agentdr8 is online now  
post #15 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 10:23 AM
Registered User
 
Mobius97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,372
I plan on using Bobsy's ingenious method of attaching the air inlet hose. With that said mine is currently attached to the lip (green arrow) with no ill effects or codes for almost a year.

2005 Elise- Katana II Supercharged and other fun bits
2011 Evora - Daily Driver
Mobius97 is offline  
post #16 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 11:37 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobsy Racer View Post
This is another reason to add the Aluminum Tube that I recommended in Post #831 here :

https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f170...4/index42.html
I'm surprised BOE hasn't added that piece to the kit.
patd is offline  
post #17 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 01:00 PM
Registered User
 
agentdr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NorCal, CA
Posts: 1,045
Garage
I found an ideal piece at Home Depot for ~$5; 4" eave vent. Left the plastic cap and bought just the small tube portion. Worked great.
Attached Images
 

2011 Evora NA - Phantom Black | Paprika | MT | 2+.5
agentdr8 is online now  
post #18 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 01:18 PM
Registered User
 
Mobius97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentdr8 View Post
I found an ideal piece at Home Depot for ~$5; 4" eave vent. Left the plastic cap and bought just the small tube portion. Worked great.
Good tidbit! Thanks!

2005 Elise- Katana II Supercharged and other fun bits
2011 Evora - Daily Driver
Mobius97 is offline  
post #19 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 05:52 PM
Registered User
 
Bobsy Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentdr8 View Post
I found an ideal piece at Home Depot for ~$5; 4" eave vent. Left the plastic cap and bought just the small tube portion. Worked great.
I don't think that the thin sheet metal used in the dryer vent is rigid enough to firmly clamp onto the intake lip without collapsing.
4 inch OD aluminium tube is readily available from Aircraft Spruce, and many other suppliers.

Last edited by Bobsy Racer; 07-17-2017 at 05:59 PM.
Bobsy Racer is offline  
post #20 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 05:58 PM
Registered User
 
Bobsy Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by patd View Post
I'm surprised BOE hasn't added that piece to the kit.
I also don't understand why BOE does not incorporate the Aluminum Tube in their kit.
It only involves a 2.5 inch long piece of 4 inch OD Aluminum tubing, and a 4 inch hose clamp.
It's clearly an improved mounting over the hole in the flex tubing and tie wrap.
Bobsy Racer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Evora

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome