...the Tesla roadster: what a wallowing pig of a car!.. - Page 3 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 107 (permalink) Old 12-15-2008, 10:45 AM

I am not an engineer, but I don't follow. Shouldn't the Tesla be performing exactly as it was designed to perform? In other words: it was designed to have that much body roll, and that cornering ability, etc etc.

Eventual Lotus owner.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #42 of 107 (permalink) Old 12-15-2008, 10:49 AM
OSX Black hat

Unfortunately not even Lotus can defy the laws of physics, the batteries, motor and transmission in the tesla are very heavy, the super lightweight and strong chassis allowed them to cut off a lot of weight that would have otherwise made it a lot worse.

I believe 1/3rd of the cars weight is battery, its 992lbs.

Black Exige S / Elan M100. Don't run a smaller pulley without an upgraded fuel pump! http://www.goth.am ecu stuff.. New reflash box coming soon!
post #43 of 107 (permalink) Old 12-15-2008, 10:54 AM

So you're saying that Lotus designed it to perform exactly as it does, using the existing conditions set forth by the drivetrain requirements.

Eventual Lotus owner.

post #44 of 107 (permalink) Old 12-15-2008, 10:58 AM
OSX Black hat

Tesla are the ones who set out the goals, not lotus, they just helped them achieve it.

Black Exige S / Elan M100. Don't run a smaller pulley without an upgraded fuel pump! http://www.goth.am ecu stuff.. New reflash box coming soon!
post #45 of 107 (permalink) Old 12-15-2008, 11:00 AM

Oh if any of you are curious I found this

Top Gear Test Track - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

It lists the lap times put up by the various cars tested by Top Gear

Eventual Lotus owner.
post #46 of 107 (permalink) Old 12-15-2008, 11:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by charliex View Post
fifth gear isn't as independant as their revenue comes from advertising sales, amongst other things, where top gears doesn't.....