Considerations for those using Sector111 Sys.6.pack - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-01-2010, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
He's on fire!

Considerations for those using Sector111 Sys.6.pack

Let me first set the stage by saying I'm not a safety engineer and that it's not my intent to make recommendations about safety equipment because I'm admittedly unqualified to do so. I've done no tests, but I have done a lot of reading. I could certainly be guilty of not analyzing the entire 'system,' mostly because I don't have the knowledge. Perhaps I'm just a guy with too much time on his hands. I should also state that with my limited knowledge, I do like the INTENT of the sys.6.pack's approach to safety, but I've got concerns about some of the details of the product.

Anyway, I've recently had an up close look at the sys.6.pack and I've made some observations I'd like to share with the forum. We should probably start with a primer on hardware and metals:

Primer On Hardware:

A fastening system is only as strong as its weakest link. Metric bolt classes come in numbers like 8.8, 10.9, and 12.9. Higher classes appear to be stronger bolts. I did come across some concerns of 'hydrogen embrittlement' with 12.9 bolts, which seems to mean that improperly manufactured 12.9 bolts can fail at tensions below their rating (so if you buy high strength hardware make sure its from a reputable place). If a nut is part of the fastening system, the article I read indicated the nut should have a rating equal to or better than the bolt. For example, a class 10.9 bolt should be paired with a class 10 nut. It could be paired with a class 12 nut, but should not be paired with a class 8 nut. For what its worth, I could not find any class 12 nuts available for purchase.

Frequently Asked Questions on Bolting Matters
American Fastener - ASTM, SAE, and ISO Grade Markings
http://www.steelmasters.co.nz/webfil...rittlement.pdf