CV Boot leaking - Page 3 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-30-2017, 04:48 AM
user /tron

Quote:
Originally Posted by countryboyshane View Post
If I were you, I'd replace the entire boot with one of BOE's "tuff boots" and fill it with Redline CV2 grease. The OEM boot is eventually going to crack. They are so thin compared to the tuff boots! I've been running these tuff boots with CV2 grease for three years now, with my heat shield, and no more seepage. Like you, my Elise is a track toy and is at track 6-8 weekends every year. Very comforting not having to worry about huge messes anymore.
Eventually I'd like to do that, but again, trying to get by without pulling the axels out for the rest of the season. I"m a pretty green mechanic, without much free time for garage projects, and that's not really a job I want to tackle to be honest.

~Matt
'06 CO Elise
'17 Toyota 4Runner TRD Pro, cement grey
'16 VW GTI, Wifey's ride
Past toys: '02 WRX | '06 STI | '14 Subaru BRZ
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #42 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-30-2017, 05:37 AM

I see what you're sayin'. You could pull the boot off, like you said, and attempt to clean out as much grease as you can, then replace with CV2. You'll certainly be better off than you are now!

2005 Lotus Elise, naturally aspirated and always at redline!
2018 NASA Great Lakes Region TT4 Champion
post #43 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-30-2017, 06:36 AM
Plug Whisperer

In my brutal opinion, you're wasting your time to leave even a spec of old grease in there.... Pulling the axles apart is quick and easy. the hard part is the mess the grease change makes. Get box of gloves, a large oil drip pan, and do the work on that. You'll need a box of rags and make sure they're loose on the counter so they're easy to fetch. Mop out the old grease, get it all clean and repack.