Project Car: Exige + Honda K24A2 + MPx90 Supercharger - Page 3 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 9Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-03-2014, 05:19 AM
Registered User
 
countryboyshane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 428
Subscribed
countryboyshane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-06-2014, 09:29 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,619
Update. Looks like we've sorted the engine mount issue. Full steam ahead. Should be into the cabin next weekend for wiring madness.

One thing that is outstanding... the exhaust system from HyTech only came with one bung for O2 sensors. Need another one for wideband so we're looking for a good welder in town to help us weld a stainless bung onto the system. But they need to be good. The welds on this system are some of the best I've ever seen and don't want an amateur muddying it up. If anyone has any recommendations please let me know!

Thinking of K-swapping? Here's an idea of the cost involved.

2006 LOTUS EXIGE (ASPEN WHITE) Honda K24A2 + MPx90 supercharger. 322whp/271lb-ft @13psi. Build thread here.
1994 AUTOZAM AZ-1 MAZDASPEED Japanese Super Kei!
2014 FIAT 500e Hydroelectric powered EV daily driver.
2007 SUZUKI SV650 Track bike.
Butters is offline  
post #43 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-06-2014, 10:32 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,619
Firewall Insulation. Real quick. Here is the firewall insulation going in. Once the motor was settled, there was actually enough room for it. Crazy.


Thinking of K-swapping? Here's an idea of the cost involved.

2006 LOTUS EXIGE (ASPEN WHITE) Honda K24A2 + MPx90 supercharger. 322whp/271lb-ft @13psi. Build thread here.
1994 AUTOZAM AZ-1 MAZDASPEED Japanese Super Kei!
2014 FIAT 500e Hydroelectric powered EV daily driver.
2007 SUZUKI SV650 Track bike.

Last edited by Butters; 01-06-2014 at 12:48 PM.
Butters is offline  
 
post #44 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-06-2014, 10:06 PM
Registered User
 
aztec1382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: los angeles
Posts: 1,533
What fixed the engine mount issue


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

slwkart
aztec1382 is offline  
post #45 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-06-2014, 10:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 460
Why do you need a o2 sensor? There is no cat? No emissions? Just run the wideband into the ecu and tune?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Formula313 is offline  
post #46 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-07-2014, 01:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Formula313 View Post
Why do you need a o2 sensor? There is no cat? No emissions? Just run the wideband into the ecu and tune?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
forgive me if im being somewhat mean, but a wideband is an O2 sensor my friend
nuk1ear is offline  
post #47 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-07-2014, 04:56 AM
Registered User
 
Apex_in_sno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by aztec1382 View Post
What fixed the engine mount issue


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
There was enough "slop" in the mounts to remove about half the distance it was off.

VFII, Eliseparts Sequential, Geartronics Paddle shift.
You name it, I've probably got that installed too...
1864lbs, full tank
Otherwise, it's bone stock....
Apex_in_sno is offline  
post #48 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-07-2014, 04:58 AM
Registered User
 
Apex_in_sno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Formula313 View Post
Why do you need a o2 sensor? There is no cat? No emissions? Just run the wideband into the ecu and tune?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
The ECU uses a narrow band, the wide band runs the AFR gauge.

VFII, Eliseparts Sequential, Geartronics Paddle shift.
You name it, I've probably got that installed too...
1864lbs, full tank
Otherwise, it's bone stock....
Apex_in_sno is offline  
post #49 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-07-2014, 06:42 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,619
+1. Need a bung for narrowband (ECU) and another for wideband (AFR gauge).

Thinking of K-swapping? Here's an idea of the cost involved.

2006 LOTUS EXIGE (ASPEN WHITE) Honda K24A2 + MPx90 supercharger. 322whp/271lb-ft @13psi. Build thread here.
1994 AUTOZAM AZ-1 MAZDASPEED Japanese Super Kei!
2014 FIAT 500e Hydroelectric powered EV daily driver.
2007 SUZUKI SV650 Track bike.
Butters is offline  
post #50 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-07-2014, 06:58 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuk1ear View Post
forgive me if im being somewhat mean, but a wideband is an O2 sensor my friend
Yeah. I got that, referring the term o2 sensor in the context of a narrowband.
I was unsure why butters wanted narrowband into the ecu based on it reads very limited information (only +/- 14.7) vs running the wideband into the ecu and the gauge as I did on my last turbo exige? It seems to give the tuner better capabilitys, but maybe it has something to do with the hondata ecu being a stock style ecu?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Formula313 is offline  
post #51 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-07-2014, 07:03 AM
Registered User
 
aztec1382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: los angeles
Posts: 1,533
Learning a lot


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

slwkart
aztec1382 is offline  
post #52 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-07-2014, 09:31 AM
Registered User
 
streetthrowback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nyc
Posts: 1,288
So we still need to run the up stream of sensor correct?

06 OCM elise r.i.p.
streetthrowback is offline  
post #53 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-07-2014, 10:56 AM
Registered User
 
Apex_in_sno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Formula313 View Post
Yeah. I got that, referring the term o2 sensor in the context of a narrowband.
I was unsure why butters wanted narrowband into the ecu based on it reads very limited information (only +/- 14.7) vs running the wideband into the ecu and the gauge as I did on my last turbo exige? It seems to give the tuner better capabilitys, but maybe it has something to do with the hondata ecu being a stock style ecu?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Yea, the hondata hack (er ECU) does allow usage of a wide band, however it requires several mods to the harness that we've got, custom sensor calibration ect, and I'm reluctant to add yet another variable to the mix at this point.

VFII, Eliseparts Sequential, Geartronics Paddle shift.
You name it, I've probably got that installed too...
1864lbs, full tank
Otherwise, it's bone stock....
Apex_in_sno is offline  
post #54 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-11-2014, 08:33 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 460
Where's the updates?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Formula313 is offline  
post #55 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-11-2014, 06:56 PM
Inactive
 
dstevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: California
Posts: 830
To correct both of you: The stock ECU uses a wideband, plus you can input an aftermarket wideband for tuning if you desire.

2005 Elise with Honda engine
dstevens is offline  
post #56 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-11-2014, 08:40 PM
Registered User
 
Exiged's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstevens View Post
To correct both of you: The stock ECU uses a wideband, plus you can input an aftermarket wideband for tuning if you desire.

Derek how is your car doing these days?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

DIY 2007 Exige S K20A2 C38 Rotrex

Www.onetonracing.com
Exiged is offline  
post #57 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-11-2014, 08:45 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,619
We got the engine bay all buttoned up today! Started in on routing harnesses and wiring up the dash. Ran into some road blocks.

Namely that we cannot upload to the ECU! The software recognizes the ecu is connected, sees that the ignition is on. But when we go to upload a base map, it tells us the upload failed. The relays cycle and everything, but the upload fails. The ecu also blinks red.

Will upload more photos tomorrow.

Thinking of K-swapping? Here's an idea of the cost involved.

2006 LOTUS EXIGE (ASPEN WHITE) Honda K24A2 + MPx90 supercharger. 322whp/271lb-ft @13psi. Build thread here.
1994 AUTOZAM AZ-1 MAZDASPEED Japanese Super Kei!
2014 FIAT 500e Hydroelectric powered EV daily driver.
2007 SUZUKI SV650 Track bike.
Butters is offline  
post #58 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-11-2014, 08:53 PM
Registered User
 
Exiged's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butters View Post
We got the engine bay all buttoned up today! Started in on routing harnesses and wiring up the dash. Ran into some road blocks.



Namely that we cannot upload to the ECU! The software recognizes the ecu is connected, sees that the ignition is on. But when we go to upload a base map, it tells us the upload failed. The relays cycle and everything, but the upload fails. The ecu also blinks red.



Will upload more photos tomorrow.

This has happened to me quite a bit with my kpro as well. Doesn't matter what computer I use it just gets picky sometimes and I have to try again. Try clearing security on it. If it fails that then you are having the same problem that I have from time to time. Maybe Derek can help?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

DIY 2007 Exige S K20A2 C38 Rotrex

Www.onetonracing.com
Exiged is offline  
post #59 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 01:44 PM
Inactive
 
dstevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: California
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exiged View Post
Derek how is your car doing these days?
I removed the K24 & supercharger and now have a built 89x90.7 engine ready for the TVS supercharger. Car is slow without any forced induction (only 100 hp over stock).

2005 Elise with Honda engine
dstevens is offline  
post #60 of 355 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 07:37 PM
Registered User
 
Exiged's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstevens View Post
I removed the K24 & supercharger and now have a built 89x90.7 engine ready for the TVS supercharger. Car is slow without any forced induction (only 100 hp over stock).

Post up some pics when you are done I would love to see it. The original work you did was unreal!


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

DIY 2007 Exige S K20A2 C38 Rotrex

Www.onetonracing.com
Exiged is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Powertrain (Engine, Transmission, etc)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome