Dead dash post supercharger install - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-18-2017, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 249
Dead dash post supercharger install

Alright, let's try the Lotustalk hive mind for this one.

I installed a BOE REV300 (it's fast) a couple of weeks ago in my 2007 Elise and while my dash worked before the install, I lost speedo, tacho, odo, and gas gauge post install. Warning lights are still functional. I've been worked with Andrew and Phil to try and resolve, so far it looks like the next step will be to ship my ECU back to test to see if they have full functionality using my ECU in one of their cars.

Steps I've taken:
Opened the clam back up and rechecked every plug ensure a good connection

Attempted to do a speedo reset, but the dash didn't respond at all. No firmware shown on screen.

Checked the 7.5 amp fuses under the dash (all seem fine)

Disconnect battery for 10 minutes.

I have not removed the dash cowl, but given that this area wasn't touched I can't see being as issue.

From what I've read in the forums, the fuse block under the dash has something to do with this. I've checked these fuses and they seem to be fine, but I noticed on my last drive that the tap-a-circuit I have connected here isn't charging my phone, so I'm thinking this entire block doesn't have power. Is that possible? What is the source of power for this block? Is it like a sub-panel that connects to the main fuse panel under the access panel? If so, which circuit should I check?

Pic is not of my install. Just what I could find online.



Thanks,
Chris

Last edited by addliteness; 09-19-2017 at 03:34 AM.
addliteness is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-19-2017, 07:08 AM
Sold my Exige S
 
+TSRAGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: TX Coast
Posts: 930
Likely a CAN signal fault. Proceed with BOE's testing. The missing odo, tach, fuel are all fed via CAN from the ECU.

The fact your dash warning lights still function says power is making it to the dash.

The cabin fuse issue appears unrelated. Does your wiper function? Double check all fuses and the tap connection you made for the phone charger.
Attached Images
 
+TSRAGR is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-19-2017, 07:28 AM
Registered User
 
Giantmcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ellensburg, WA
Posts: 2,612
Garage
Also just redouble check your plugs, make sure they are in all the way. Had this issue once because my cable was not plugged in fully.

2005 Lotus Elise Graphite Grey - Salvaged title started the SSM build!!!
Maverick ML8 - Other daily
2005 VW Passat Station Wagon TDI (harder to find than the lotus?)
2005 Lotus Elise Starlight Black - Sold
Giantmcm is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-19-2017, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by +TSRAGR View Post
Likely a CAN signal fault. Proceed with BOE's testing. The missing odo, tach, fuel are all fed via CAN from the ECU.

The fact your dash warning lights still function says power is making it to the dash.

The cabin fuse issue appears unrelated. Does your wiper function? Double check all fuses and the tap connection you made for the phone charger.
Thanks for your reply.

I'd read somewhere that there are two plugs going into the dash module, one feeds the warning lights and the other speedo, odo, tach, etc, so that's why I thought it might just a power issue.

I'll double check all the fuses and the tap to see if anything is amiss there.

Your image indicates all the info that's on the CAN is what I'm, so it seems like you're saying makes sense. I just have no idea how I'm going to isolate where the issue is happening.

Chris
addliteness is online now  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-19-2017, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giantmcm View Post
Also just redouble check your plugs, make sure they are in all the way. Had this issue once because my cable was not plugged in fully.
@Giantmcm

Are you talking about spark plugs or something else?

Chris
addliteness is online now  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-20-2017, 08:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
I see the kit involves a reflash of the Ecu
The can speed pre 2008 is 1Mbit and 500Kbit after that , also the data is slightly different ,

Maybe you had the wrong reflash
garw is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-20-2017, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
I see the kit involves a reflash of the Ecu
The can speed pre 2008 is 1Mbit and 500Kbit after that , also the data is slightly different ,

Maybe you had the wrong reflash
I'll bring this up to the BOE guys. They've been helpful thought the trouble shooting process, but looks like the next step is sending the ECU back to be tested/reflashed. Theoretically, I could test the ECU in another Elise to narrow the problem to ECU or gauge cluster, but I don't know any owners locally that might be willing to try this.

If the ECU testing/reflash doesn't work, the next step is gauge cluster replacement, so it's ironic that you responded @garw . I've been following your dash updates all along and added my name to the list today. May as well order yours if I need a new one. I also sent a note over to @GregsRaceParts to ask about a binnacle. Seems like a good fit to have you guys do something together for the 8" screen.

Chris
addliteness is online now  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-21-2017, 06:40 PM
Registered User
 
Giantmcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ellensburg, WA
Posts: 2,612
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Voicekiller View Post
@Giantmcm

Are you talking about spark plugs or something else?

Chris
Sorry Chris,

No I meant the plugs that go into the back of your display cluster.

2005 Lotus Elise Graphite Grey - Salvaged title started the SSM build!!!
Maverick ML8 - Other daily
2005 VW Passat Station Wagon TDI (harder to find than the lotus?)
2005 Lotus Elise Starlight Black - Sold
Giantmcm is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-26-2017, 08:52 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 249
@Giantmcm @garw @+TSRAGR Thanks for all you input. Looks like BOE and I may have found a solution. I'll let you know shortly whether the fix works.

By the way, new username to match my Instagram handle. Bye Voicekiller, long live addliteness.

Chris
addliteness is online now  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 249
BOE's fix work. Dash now fully functional.
addliteness is online now  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 11:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by addliteness View Post
BOE's fix work. Dash now fully functional.

what is the solution?
zakria is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-22-2017, 04:29 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by zakria View Post
what is the solution?


Turned out there was an issue with the ECU flash. BOE reflashed and it worked.
addliteness is online now  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-22-2017, 11:21 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by addliteness View Post
Turned out there was an issue with the ECU flash. BOE reflashed and it worked.
did you send the ECU or did they send you the files to do it? can you explain more
zakria is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-22-2017, 11:23 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by zakria View Post
did you send the ECU or did they send you the files to do it? can you explain more

ECU had to go back to BOE.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
addliteness is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Elise

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome