Elise LCD dash - Page 3 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 534Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 12:44 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by luxige View Post
^^^Camera display is a great idea.

I don't see the need to simulate the uneven lighting of the stock night mode. Should be nice and even, adding functionality, otherwise it's not really an upgrade.

Definitely would like to see oil pressure and temp.

Would like to be able to spec units (psi vs. bar, degF vs. degC, etc).

Lap and G functions also cool. What is the input for these?

Beautiful work, garw. I subscribed to your YouTube channel...

The classic screen was meant to be as accurate as possible to the original including how it looks at night

..but a few people have said its not for them, as they dislike it in their current analogue cluster..... what could replace it ?
naturally the authentic look will always be available but an option to switch could be added , maybe just even lighting with a color option ?

G funtion is built into the unit with a calibrate function
lap timer is a simple input to be used with circuit lap timers,
the beacons on track, usually infrared receiver in your car
they are the most accurate i believe


the extra connector is for expansion, and due to popular demand
i will expand the plug to include analogue inputs for pressure sensors etc
garw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 12:47 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by XtinctElise View Post
The question is if it will be legible in direct sunlight. Right now the digital temp sensor is completely drowned out in direct sunlight.
didnt really want to show these pics because the test enclosure looks
bad,

but for the direct sunlight question its relevant

https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/atta...hmentid=682257

https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/atta...hmentid=682265
Attached Images
   
garw is offline  
post #43 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 12:59 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugeray View Post
1. TPMs: tire pressure monitor for all 4 wheels
2. Rearview and frontview cameras
3. Built-in radar detector showing the direction of the laser (like the Valentine 1)
if its a canbus TPMS then it can be easily added

cameras not yet , no technical issue but its a small screen

radar detection , mmmm didnt think of that , not really in that
market
garw is offline  
 
post #44 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 04:27 AM
Elise Driver
 
Sugeray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
radar detection , mmmm didnt think of that , not really in that
market
I wouldn't expect you to make a radar detector, just a way to display the alert arrows from the Valentine 1 detector (arguably the best one on the market). I imagined the whole screen starts flashing red and points to the direction of the ��

Last edited by Aedo; 03-28-2016 at 03:15 AM. Reason: fixed quote tag
Sugeray is offline  
post #45 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 04:47 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugeray View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
radar detection , mmmm didnt think of that , not really in that
market
I wouldn't expect you to make a radar detector, just a way to display the alert arrows from the Valentine 1 detector (arguably the best one on the market). I imagined the whole screen starts flashing red and points to the direction of the ��
Ok , I get it if the detector has an output then it could be used . It would be a generic alarm that is triggered by a particular input .

Last edited by Aedo; 03-28-2016 at 03:16 AM. Reason: fixed quote tag
garw is offline  
post #46 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 05:02 AM
Registered User
 
O LEE O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hillsborough, New Jersey
Posts: 816
Garage
garw, great job! very interested! keep at it! would love to see a group buy when you're ready.

-----------------------------
2011 Persian Blue Elise RS
O LEE O is offline  
post #47 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 06:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 211
how does the lap timer work?

How would it recognize when to start the clock and when to reset the clock?
mpower1226 is offline  
post #48 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 06:30 AM
not your dad's puns
 
Turbopun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Big D
Posts: 1,751
Wow.

Sorry if I missed it, is this Android based? What is the CPU spec of tablet?

Have you checked with the UK, Aussie or Kiwi blokes?

And again, just wow.

because racecar
Turbopun is offline  
post #49 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 06:40 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpower1226 View Post
how does the lap timer work?

How would it recognize when to start the clock and when to reset the clock?
laptimer is an external input designed to work with track laptimers

beacons as they are known, the car has a receiver which gets triggered by a transmitter on the side of the track.

guys take their own an leave the transmitter in the pits sometimes

but its fairly standard stuff and the most accurate

so pass the beacon and the timer starts, pass again and it will reset and save that lap to the previous lap reading, a list is then kept in another screen of all your lap times .
garw is offline  
post #50 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 06:47 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbopun View Post
Wow.

Sorry if I missed it, is this Android based? What is the CPU spec of tablet?

Have you checked with the UK, Aussie or Kiwi blokes?

And again, just wow.
No sorry its not android, its a bespoke embedded operating system
built for the job.

And its not a tablet, it uses an embedded dual core arm processor
with accelerated graphics

although arm processors are used in nearly every mobile device
so you would find it in a tablet, phone,

most high end cars with LCD instruments also use arm processors
they have the best performance per watt, so perform well and run very cool no fans needed etc.

UK is its origins , that's were I am based and currently testing.

not sure how to get word to the Aussies and Kiwi's
garw is offline  
post #51 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 06:57 AM
Registered User
 
ERDoc74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 230
Garage
I'm IN! TAKE MY MONEY!!!!

2006 Graphite Grey Lotus Elise: BOE Fully built Long Rod Race motor with Solid Ferrea rockers, REV400 SC, Custom mounted BOE Front HEX.. Penske SA's , BOE CF Rear clam, Exige front clam + LOTS of other mods
ERDoc74 is offline  
post #52 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 07:21 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERDoc74 View Post
I'm IN! TAKE MY MONEY!!!!
such a different audience here i like it

but send me a message if you want more info on its next stage

or just hang on and I will keep you updated on details of the production release
ERDoc74 likes this.
garw is offline  
post #53 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 10:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 182
How did I miss this thread?!?!?!

Please keep us updated....I am in!
AliH is offline  
post #54 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 11:07 AM
Registered User
 
JonathanLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 113
I'm in too! My cluster is dying and will need this very soon for S2 Toyota engine. Thanks!
JonathanLA is offline  
post #55 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 11:12 AM
Registered User
 
Kamsden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
if its a canbus TPMS then it can be easily added

All USA models from 08 on are fitted with TPMS. Not sure if European models have them?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Kamsden is offline  
post #56 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamsden View Post
All USA models from 08 on are fitted with TPMS. Not sure if European models have them?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
yes you are right , its a canbus warning lamp

but there is no pressure value sent over the canbus, only an on/off message for the warning lamp

...but thanks for pointing me back to the canbus codes, as I found a USA spec bit , so the USA cars
will identify themselves over CANBUS so I can preset to deg F etc.

Thanks
garw is offline  
post #57 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 01:05 PM
Registered User
 
Mr Coughy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 280
<-- kinda looks like the 2 crazyeyes are high fiving eachother
Mr Coughy is offline  
post #58 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 01:10 PM
Registered User
 
luxige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 2,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
The classic screen was meant to be as accurate as possible to the original including how it looks at night

..but a few people have said its not for them, as they dislike it in their current analogue cluster..... what could replace it ?
Thanks for your response.

Clearly a lot of work (very impressive work) has gone into replicating the appearance of the original display. But, not to put too fine a point on it, what would an end user get out of it? I mean, I already have a display that looks like the original; it's in the car right now...

If I were able to develop this myself (not remotely possible), I'd have three screens:

1. Street display - a central round-dial speedo with large digital speed indicator in the center; under the digital speed, a smaller digital selected gear indicator. Tach display on the left in the form of a partial arc or moving tape display. On the right, partial arc or moving tapes for fuel level, coolant temp, oil pressure, oil temp. If space is too tight, the oil data could be minimal or even reduced to just warning lights. 2016 Cadillac CT6 is a good model for this layout.

2. Track display - much as you have it now. Tach is a full round dial, maybe put the redline at 12:00, GT40-style. Digital gear indicator and speed. Oil pressure and temp now larger than fuel level.

3. Settings, lap times, G load datalogged by lap

I'm very interested to see how your product turns out, quite promising so far. Do you have an estimate as to when you might be ready to produce finished units?

In theory, there is no difference between Theory and Practice. In practice, there is. - Y. Berra
luxige is offline  
post #59 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 04:08 PM
Registered User
 
Obeisance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SE MI
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by luxige View Post
[...]If I were able to develop this myself (not remotely possible)[...]
I think that something similar to this would be quite doable with an arduino uno, an SD shield (for image storage), a CAN shield (It is trivial to read the CAN bytes or inject others onto the bus) and a TFT display. This is just speculation though.

I have long wanted some kind of map/GPS and internet connected display behind the gauge cluster so that I would not have to get out a phone for navigation. However, I harbor reservations due to potential complications with losing the original odometer reading. I understand that someone could have the proposed device programmed with a pre-set odometer value. However, how would the person who is selling this display confirm that the number is honest? What about someone buying a car that had this installed into it- how could they confirm that the odometer reading was accurate? Although I suppose that anyone could disconnect their OEM cluster and thereby make the displayed number inaccurate...

Is this display only intended for people who don't care about this kind of thing? Is there any chance that this display could be installed over top of the OEM gauge cluster (and just splice off of the wire connections) in order to maintain the original odometer accounting?

(sorry for being a debbie downer; this display looks pretty great and I didn't leave any positive comment)
Obeisance is offline  
post #60 of 1617 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 05:39 PM
Registered User
 
Kamsden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obeisance View Post
I think that something similar to this would be quite doable with an arduino uno, an SD shield (for image storage), a CAN shield (It is trivial to read the CAN bytes or inject others onto the bus) and a TFT display. This is just speculation though.

I have long wanted some kind of map/GPS and internet connected display behind the gauge cluster so that I would not have to get out a phone for navigation. However, I harbor reservations due to potential complications with losing the original odometer reading. I understand that someone could have the proposed device programmed with a pre-set odometer value. However, how would the person who is selling this display confirm that the number is honest? What about someone buying a car that had this installed into it- how could they confirm that the odometer reading was accurate? Although I suppose that anyone could disconnect their OEM cluster and thereby make the displayed number inaccurate...

Is this display only intended for people who don't care about this kind of thing? Is there any chance that this display could be installed over top of the OEM gauge cluster (and just splice off of the wire connections) in order to maintain the original odometer accounting?

(sorry for being a debbie downer; this display looks pretty great and I didn't leave any positive comment)

Ok I will be the first to say it. Read the whole post, number 16. This is what it says!

The odo starts from zero, but a preset value can be requested if needed to match the original.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Kamsden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Elise

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome