Elise LCD dash - Page 8 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 534Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #141 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-09-2016, 12:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,952
Elise LCD dash

It looks really good. I feel like the screen could be so much bigger in the gauge shroud. But then, how much of this is covered by the shroud?

Last edited by Coyne; 05-09-2016 at 04:07 PM.
Coyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #142 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-09-2016, 01:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,310
Why am I only now seeing this? I'm in.

2006 Black Exige
Chimera R.B.S./ITB airfilter/Composite Worx
Kimgt is offline  
post #143 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-09-2016, 01:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
I like it, looks good.
Peterpan13 is offline  
 
post #144 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-09-2016, 09:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1
Hi, if it fits a 2002 MK2 i am interestet too!
Seregeth is offline  
post #145 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-09-2016, 11:21 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyne View Post
It looks really good. I feel like the screen could be so much bigger in the gauge shroud. But then, how much of this is covered by the shroud?

garw is offline  
post #146 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 04:39 AM
Registered User
 
driftwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 1,980
Garage
this is pretty damn incredible...

subscribed & very interested.

also, didnt see this talked about (but admittedly got excited & skimmed through a lot of the thread as well)... but I thought there were some lag/latency issues with the pre '08 digi-dashes (AIM, racepak, ect.) because of the obd 'refresh rate' not being as quick in the earlier 05-07 models as the newer 08's were

is there any truth behind that & does this dash factor in anything of that nature?

i could be way off on this too, so ignore my reply if its no accurate (just going off memory of past threads about aftermarket clusters)

'05 ST Elise: DHP exhaust, Quantum Zero's, Forge MS radiator, s111 v3 eliminator, s111 DSbrace, ce28n, ic7 dash...
driftwood is offline  
post #147 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 05:36 AM
Registered User
 
HKFEVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
It seems too small for round dials style

S240 Exige S with BOE FW300 + over 40 mods
HKFEVER is offline  
post #148 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 06:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,952
Elise LCD dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post

Will there be a black gauge face offered? I did the gauge swap with red LCD and needles and white backlight. Or is that all custom?
Coyne is offline  
post #149 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 07:50 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by driftwood View Post
this is pretty damn incredible...

subscribed & very interested.

also, didnt see this talked about (but admittedly got excited & skimmed through a lot of the thread as well)... but I thought there were some lag/latency issues with the pre '08 digi-dashes (AIM, racepak, ect.) because of the obd 'refresh rate' not being as quick in the earlier 05-07 models as the newer 08's were

is there any truth behind that & does this dash factor in anything of that nature?

i could be way off on this too, so ignore my reply if its no accurate (just going off memory of past threads about aftermarket clusters)

You are correct , OBD is for diagnostic,
manufacturers don't tend to waste processing power updating the OBD canbus data at a high refresh rate

This dash is not connected to the obd port and not reading the generic OBD canbus messages

Its using the same canbus messages as the original cluster
and therefore running at the same refresh rate

...any difference you may see in my videos is down to software damping , softening the movements to make it more realistic
garw is offline  
post #150 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 07:51 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyne View Post
Will there be a black gauge face offered? I did the gauge swap with red LCD and needles and white backlight. Or is that all custom?
yes

3/4 classic screens will be available

S1

S2 k series (later)

S2 white

S2/S3 black
garw is offline  
post #151 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 08:02 AM
Registered User
 
driftwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 1,980
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
You are correct , OBD is for diagnostic,
manufacturers don't tend to waste processing power updating the OBD canbus data at a high refresh rate

This dash is not connected to the obd port and not reading the generic OBD canbus messages

Its using the same canbus messages as the original cluster
and therefore running at the same refresh rate

...any difference you may see in my videos is down to software damping , softening the movements to make it more realistic
awesome, thanks for clarifying that

'05 ST Elise: DHP exhaust, Quantum Zero's, Forge MS radiator, s111 v3 eliminator, s111 DSbrace, ce28n, ic7 dash...
driftwood is offline  
post #152 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 08:11 AM
Registered User
 
hotspoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Crofton, MD
Posts: 368
Garage
garw,

Cool project, I can't wait to see it finished! I have a few questions:
  • What underlying OS are you using, e.g. Linux/Android, QNX, BSD, something embedded, from scratch microkernel?
  • Are you using a SOC with networking/WiFi? If so are you including a networking stack with the OS?
  • Besides networking, will this have any externally accessible interfaces, e.g. USB, serial, bluetooth?

-Rich

2005 Saffron Yellow Elise, far from stock
Garage
hotspoons is offline  
post #153 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 08:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
yes



3/4 classic screens will be available



S1



S2 k series (later)



S2 white



S2/S3 black

Nice! I'm in.
Coyne is offline  
post #154 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 08:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 211
quick questions, would this have a function to switch between miles vs Km?

I'm from Canada, we dont use miles, but km.
mpower1226 is offline  
post #155 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 08:56 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpower1226 View Post
quick questions, would this have a function to switch between miles vs Km?

I'm from Canada, we dont use miles, but km.
Yes it switches
garw is offline  
post #156 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 09:03 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotspoons View Post
garw,

Cool project, I can't wait to see it finished! I have a few questions:
  • What underlying OS are you using, e.g. Linux/Android, QNX, BSD, something embedded, from scratch microkernel?
    Are you using a SOC with networking/WiFi? If so are you including a networking stack with the OS?
    Besides networking, will this have any externally accessible interfaces, e.g. USB, serial, bluetooth?
Embedded Linux kernel built for the job, the rest of the system is again tailored for the job (not Debian or any other distribution )

It is a soc , all network expansion is via the 2 USB ports .

Wifi , Bluetooth , serial , GPS all tested and part o the os capability .


Native serial port connected for firmware updates and any other use .

As well as multiple inputs and outputs analogue, canbus etc.
Kamsden likes this.
garw is offline  
post #157 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 09:09 AM
Registered User
 
hotspoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Crofton, MD
Posts: 368
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
Embedded Linux kernel built for the job, the rest of the system is again tailored for the job (not Debian or any other distribution )

It is a soc , all network expansion is via the 2 USB ports .

Wifi , Bluetooth , serial , GPS all tested and part o the os capability .


Native serial port connected for firmware updates and any other use .

As well as multiple inputs and outputs analogue, canbus etc.
Cool! Not trying to get too nerdy, but what are you using to drive the graphics, e.g. framebuffer, mesaFB, X, wayland? And are you using any toolkits or APIs like QT or GTK to make your job easier?

-Rich

2005 Saffron Yellow Elise, far from stock
Garage
hotspoons is offline  
post #158 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 09:29 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Framebuffer

Qt
garw is offline  
post #159 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 09:32 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotspoons View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by garw View Post
Embedded Linux kernel built for the job, the rest of the system is again tailored for the job (not Debian or any other distribution )

It is a soc , all network expansion is via the 2 USB ports .

Wifi , Bluetooth , serial , GPS all tested and part o the os capability .


Native serial port connected for firmware updates and any other use .

As well as multiple inputs and outputs analogue, canbus etc.
Cool! Not trying to get too nerdy, but what are you using to drive the graphics, e.g. framebuffer, mesaFB, X, wayland? And are you using any toolkits or APIs like QT or GTK to make your job easier?
:-). And you probably guess most of it

The frame buffer is OpenGL accelerated through the hardware

No x window running slowing it down .
garw is offline  
post #160 of 1612 (permalink) Old 05-10-2016, 10:39 AM
purveyor of lightness
 
darkSol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leawood, KS
Posts: 4,050
Garage
Can we still have a simple red LED somewhere behind the front bezel that is wired to the stock immobilizer/shift light?

Otherwise I'd never know if my car has battery power (and needs to have the security system deactivated) or not.

Also in the extreme case of having the remote go dead you have to count the flashes for the PIN code...

.
d.a..v...i....d

David Thomas Stewart - [email protected]
2005 Midnight Silver Lotus Elise (www.darksol.com)
388hp (342whp) BOE RevX 1736lbs.
darkSol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Elise

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome