Help diagnose my high/pulsing idle - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
06EliseTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 37
Help diagnose my high/pulsing idle

I will start by saying I have searched the forum many times and only find links to esprit high idle, or new people worried about the normal rough idle.

Now the problem. At start up the car idles normally, but when I begin to drive any time I push in the clutch rpms go up to 2000 then pulse between 1500 and 2000. It seems to do this for varying lengths of time but will eventually return to normal.

It seems similar but more severe to a vacuum leak, but why would it return to normal eventually if there were a leak. This is in an 06 Elise with what looks like most of a Haas turbo kit.

Any help would be great.
06EliseTurbo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 03:36 PM
Registered User
 
Ked67madison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Atx
Posts: 653
You can blip the throttle next time... See if it works.. 06 is a drive by wire and idle air control.. And dnt think u want to spend ur money on a whole new throttle body which is built into it... Also u can clean the throttle body out with some carb cleaner to help out
Ked67madison is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 03:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colorado springs CO
Posts: 1,210
What ecu do you have?
lotus90 is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 03:46 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
06EliseTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 37
Tried giving it a little throttle, cleaned the maf and tb. Looked for vacuum leaks up top, I will try to get underneath tomorrow and inspect.

Sent from my EVO using AutoGuide.Com Free App
06EliseTurbo is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
06EliseTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 37
Stock ecu with hks piggyback

Sent from my EVO using AutoGuide.Com Free App
06EliseTurbo is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 09:07 PM
Registered User
 
streetthrowback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nyc
Posts: 1,288
Take a can of air cleaner and spray around the tb and some hoses when the idle raises that's when you know that's the area of the leak. If its a vacuum leak

06 OCM elise r.i.p.
streetthrowback is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 09:24 PM
Registered User
 
cashxdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Soon to be Ohio, again :(
Posts: 1,628
I cleaned my TB and ended up with the same problem. I found I had to set the trims back to zero to fix it
cashxdr is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 09:38 PM
Registered User
 
streetthrowback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nyc
Posts: 1,288
Trims?

06 OCM elise r.i.p.
streetthrowback is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2013, 10:13 PM
Registered User
 
cashxdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Soon to be Ohio, again :(
Posts: 1,628
Yes trims, ECU adjusts to a point. Had dealer hook up their diagnostic thingy are reset all my trims so the ECU starts with a clean page

Just like when you install a CAI or header and do not reflash it. The computer will dial it back to stock, aka, adjust its trims
cashxdr is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-05-2013, 04:39 PM
Registered User
 
sturgeongeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 5,176
Probably trims, but check to make sure one of your injector orings are not leaking.

05 Elise
56 VW Dune Buggy

GGLC-Sacramento Chapter Membership and Recruiting
[email protected]
sturgeongeneral is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-05-2013, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
06EliseTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 37
Why would the trims be off all of a sudden.

Sent from my EVO using AutoGuide.Com Free App
06EliseTurbo is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
06EliseTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 37
fixed it and broke it at the same time

So just for fun I changed the MAF sensor and the idle problem went away as soon as I got on the road. However, when I went back to the auto parts store to return the old one I pulled in and shut off the car and it kept running. I had to stall the car to get it to turn off. My only idea is that the car needs time to get used to the new sensor. Any other Ideas?
06EliseTurbo is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 02:40 PM
Registered User
 
ChrisH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,771
The only way for the engine to keep running is for the ignition to still be on. The ECU controls both fuel injection and spark. Even if it was hot enough to "diesel" without spark, there should be no fuel if the ECU was off because the fuel injectors would not open (this isn't a carbureted car). This sounds like you have an electrical problem with the ignition switch or a relay.
ChrisH is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 03:30 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
06EliseTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 37
Figured it out. I replaced a couple of blown fuses on the hks ecu that I didn't know about. I did this at the same time I changed the maf, and one of the fuses caused it to keep running after ignition was off. So the maf was the whole problem. As for the hks, its out as soon as hackish is done with his tuning program.
06EliseTurbo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > Lotus Elise

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome