New Engine whine - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 11:56 AM Thread Starter

Garage
New Engine whine (Update: Found MP45 leaking)

Hello all. I’m looking for some technical support.

Over the weekend I felt like my supercharger (Eaton MP45) got noisier. Hard to explain, but my car never had SC’er whine, but now it does. It’s not a “clean” sounding whine, but there isn’t any accompanying rattle, clacking or vibration. I'm new to superchargers, so my mind immediately went to it. This very noticeable change occurred fairly suddenly but has not affected performance and has no visible symptoms (wobbly pulley, or obvious leaks as examples). The car only has 48k Kms on it (30k Miles), and continues to get 28+ mpg daily driven.

The "whine" follows the RPM's up, and slightly trails the RPM's down. I have probed the pulley directly below and aft of the supercharger (tensioner) with a stethoscope and it is noticeably louder than the alternator or the SC in comparison.

I’m looking for my next steps in diagnosis of what may be going on or experiences with the same sudden change in noise. I’m new to superchargers however I have mid level home Mechanic abilities (comfortable with most anything but not pulling the head off or cracking the engine).

-Where my head went initially, thinking it was the SC-

-possible low oil in SC (visually no leaks. Nothing apparent using probe mirror or on underpan)
-check for pulley play. (When running there is no apparent play in the pulley and pulley appears tensioned correctly)

-suggestions from Facespace group-

-check airbox, intake, snorkel (snorkel, and intake all appear and feel intact and tight)
-vacuum bypass under SC by throttle body (Intact and connected properly)
-remove belt and run engine to determine if actually SC (Without belt the noise disappears)