Oil with ZDDP for Elise? - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 65 (permalink) Old 12-13-2017, 07:48 PM Thread Starter

Oil with ZDDP for Elise?

I use a high ZDDP oil in my old 911 that has flat tappets...all old flat tappet lumps require a higher level than the cat friendly oils generally marketed/ produced today.

No need to discuss what ZDDP is.

I was surprised to see some here talking about using a heavier ZDDP concentration oil in their Elise....why?

I've looked at the cam/valve train set up and it is unique but it is not your typical FT.

There is no real reason to use a ZDDP heavy oil without the 'slap' a flat tappet gets (as far as I know and I am not an expert by any means).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 65 (permalink) Old 12-13-2017, 08:31 PM

Garage
Premature cam wear is a known issue on Elises/Exiges, so thatís why people run high ZDDP oils
post #3 of 65 (permalink) Old 12-13-2017, 10:10 PM
Sig

Garage
It is not correct to talk about just ZDDP as the only wear "protectant" additive in an oil, or even the most important. In the oil industry, just zinc in not measured, a class/group of minerals are measured and reported under the heading of ZDDP. It is a combination of additives (that also include ZDDP) that gives the ware protective properties of an oil. Let's leave it at that.

The Mobil 1™ FS 0W-40 has just about the best wear protection properties of any commercially available oil...and it just so happens to have a lot of ZDDP just to give you that warm fuzzy feeling inside. And as an added bonus, you can but it at Wal-Mart!

BUT it MUST say "FS" on the bottle...that stands for Fully Synthetic. All of the previous Mobil 1 oils are just semi-synthetic, even though they advertised then as "synthetic".

That is the best oil to use for the Lotus.period.

Whoever said that island life is great was never committed to Alcatraz...

post #4 of 65 (permalink) Old 12-14-2017, 04:13 AM

Quote: