Reasons to purchase a 2005 Elise? - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 02-27-2016, 04:11 PM Thread Starter

Post Reasons to purchase a 2005 Elise?

so i'm 21.

have a 2015 scion rsS. due = to value.

am super interested in getting a Lotus Elise.
there are only 10 people that have them in ~50 mile radius. so a very rare car around here.
live in tennessee

here is the catch though. i still live with my parents, and im a student about to go to start my last term.

parents have a say in if i get a different car, because while im in school they make the payments...i work a lot when vacation/time out starts up.

can anyone help make a fairly elaborate argument as to why an Elise would be more beneficial than per se my FRS

tires arent expensive ~$150-250/ea and last typical duration
clutch ~1k-2k every 30-60k miles? not very often atleast
oil ~$40 if done myself (i know some guys thatd do this for some beers)
maintenance ~$300 typical maintenance from toyota?
brakes ~250-350? car is light so not much wear im sure?
insurance ~$80-100/mo cheaper got a quote from allstate car vs car
fuel uses 89 octance mid tier fuel around here, so cheaper even

Lotus value is on the rise, if not stable?

if this is in the wrong section please divert it to said location.
and if i have any misconceptions please notify me!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 02-27-2016, 04:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axent View Post
so i'm 21.

have a 2015 scion rsS. due = to value.

am super interested in getting a Lotus Elise.
there are only 10 people that have them in ~50 mile radius. so a very rare car around here.
live in tennessee

here is the catch though. i still live with my parents, and im a student about to go to start my last term.

parents have a say in if i get a different car, because while im in school they make the payments...i work a lot when vacation/time out starts up.