Wheels, the complete story - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-28-2011, 06:53 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Wheels, the complete story

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to the Lotus circle and I'm trying to get the complete story on the wheels available from Lotus on our cars of various years/options.

What I think I know so far is this. My car is a 2005 with the sport package so it has the LSS (split seven spoke) wheels. These are apparently wider front wheels than later LSS wheels??? Are the LSS wheels significantly lighter than the standard touring wheels? Are they wider than the touring wheels? And when I say touring wheels I mean the standard 7 spoke wheels that you frequently see.

There has been a lot of talk about tire sizes to run for various events and people putting huge (relatively wide) tires on these cars. I read here that some people put 225's on the front and 245's on the rear but I just can picture it in my head.

Lets say you have 2005 LSS wheels, and 2005 standard wheels, what width tire can you safely put on the front and rear? 205/245 for both sets of wheels?

I hope someone can help clarify things for me.

Thanks,

Keith
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-28-2011, 07:10 AM
JWA

This is mostly off the top of my head, but the complete history of Elise wheels in the US is something like this:

The base wheels on the Elise from '05-'10 in the US were the seven spoke cast wheels that you mentioned. They are 16x5.5/17x7.5 and weigh 15.17lbs/20.94lbs.

If you ordered the Sport Pack in '05-'07, that came with forged split-spoke wheels that were the optional forged wheels on the Euro Exige. They are 16x6.5/17x7.5 and weigh 12lbs/14lbs. These were also the standard wheel (in black) on all Exige and Exige S cars other than the Exige S 260 and Exige Cup cars. These always shipped with A048s.