Oil Temp and Pressure gauges - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By exigegus
  • 1 Post By glb
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,134
Oil Temp and Pressure gauges

So I added an oil temp and oil pressure gauge to the Exige

I don't like looking down at the floor to see gauges that might be important, so I wanted them up with the others, but to look more or less like they belonged.

The sender replaces the OEM one and should act similarly. I T'ed in and ran a wire up front so I can install a big red oil light if I so choose.

I wired into the lighting circuit from the back of the gauge cluster, as noted in my finding sidelights wire thread. Note that the red/orange wire in the CANbus connector will not run a light bulb.

Ran the wires in through the chassis. It opens into the engine bay and you can fish a wire up to under the sill panel. I happen to have about 10k feet of twisted shielded pair irradiated PVC airplane wire which also happens to slip into the grooves in the chassis side rail. Held it in with a few dollops of RTV.

Power I ran from a new fuse in the fusebox in the passenger footwell. The rearview camera wiring was some awful huge black/red pair that ran from wires kluged into the headlight switches, so I took the opportunity to replace that and used the original to fish the power wire from the passenger side over to the driver side.

Ground was a little amusing. I thought I could trap a ring lug under an attachment screw for the dash end trim panels, but even though it screws right into the alloy, no connection. Drilled and tapped a small screw on either end, one for the camera wiring, one for the gauges.

The bezels were silver and I painted them black, poorly. May work on a nicer job.

Anyway I think they blend in and are right in line of sight, and I have a spare sensor sized wire if I ever need one.

Housings are turned from solid delrin. brackets are aluminum bent and painted black. Drilled a small hole for a sheet metal screw through the dash pad, one where there was already a hole, and the other symmetrical.
Attached Images
         
Nickshu likes this.
exigegus is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 12:24 PM
Registered User
 
Lotusmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,569
Nice! You did the "Mickey Mouse Ears" set up. I considered doing the same but opted to go the BWR gauge pod route after not being able to find gauge cups that I liked. Your set up is convenient - especially for track use - and right in the line of sight.

2006 Exige - Phantom Black
Lotusmotion is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 12:36 PM
Registered User
 
cyow5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NoVa
Posts: 3,879
Pretty much exactly how I did mine, too. I just used a single gauge where oil temperature is displayed in the LED ring around the gauge, and pressure is numerical in the center. Bass-ackwards because everyone should be able to figure out that temperature changes slower and numbers are harder to read when changing quickly, but I like the cleanliness of it. I need to redo my bezel though; yours turned out great!

"Lots Of Trouble; Usually Serious"
cyow5 is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 02:55 PM
Recreational Mechanic
 
Nickshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 833
Garage
I'm eyeing a triple gauge pod bracket from @GregsRaceParts with oil pressure, oil temperature and Wideband O2 A/F. It was great to see how the sandwich plate mounts with the oil sensors thanks for posting @exigegus

Sent from my Samsung GS7 using Tapatalk

Nick____________
2005 Elise - Chrome Orange (SOLD)
2004 Porsche 911 GT3
Nickshu is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 03:25 PM
glb
Registered User
 
glb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chester, NJ
Posts: 11,282
I tend to use a T-fitting so the light and the gauge both work.

Hmmm, should the oil pressure gauge then have a large red light???
zender likes this.

05 elise (BOE Rev300 supercharged, SSRs, shift tower mods, Multivex; HID hi/low beams); 05 Corolla XRS. Past '72 Elan Sprint (I restored), Lotus 7 w/X-flow, TT Supra, Bugeye Sprite, BMW 2002 & 2002tii, '65 GTO.

Driving Tips-https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f10...art-1-a-49665/
Moss Emergency Line-https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f10...cy-line-36631/
Bleeding Brakes- https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f10...-brakes-241138
glb is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 05:40 PM
Registered User
 
eldonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 954
These are the gauges I use in my race car because they can be setup to have a warning and an alarm indicator.

AccuTech? SMi? Stepper Motor Gauges

Later,
Eldon
eldonz is online now  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 06:35 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by glb View Post
I tend to use a T-fitting so the light and the gauge both work.

Hmmm, should the oil pressure gauge then have a large red light???
It may not be clear, but it is a dual sender

the gauges are these:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I wired the stock harness to the oil pressure switch and brought a wire forward to allow a light to be added

I chose them for being small 1 1/2 inch but also because the oil gauge has a light output.

I was wondering if anyone had added a light and whether or not it interfered at all with the stock display. I would not think so but it is possible

VDO also makes dual senders and that would have been my choice if I was stuck with 2 inch gauges

I like the look of the gauge brackets available but I find them suitable only for secondary gauges, not oil pressure which I want line of sight.
exigegus is online now  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,134
Another consideration was the former Smiths makes a modern trimmed version of the dual gauge found in Elans, oil pressure/temp with white background orange needle. I thought it would be cool for those who recognized it. Unfortunately the mechanical temp is not long enough so I ruled it out.
exigegus is online now  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 07:41 PM
Sold my Exige S
 
+TSRAGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: TX Coast
Posts: 930
@exigegus Any preliminary oil data to share?

I sold my digital oil temp display after a few months of doing the single oil cooler in the rear mod. The time to ideal oil temp (just over 10 minutes) became so predictable that I no longer needed the gauge to confirm the obvious. The hottest I pegged was 220s in traffic, which is still plenty safe for synth oil.

Had I installed an oil pressure gauge, I'd have kept it. Oil pressure is far more useful.
+TSRAGR is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 09:59 PM
glb
Registered User
 
glb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chester, NJ
Posts: 11,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by eldonz View Post
These are the gauges I use in my race car because they can be setup to have a warning and an alarm indicator.

AccuTech? SMi? Stepper Motor Gauges

Later,
Eldon
Those look very good.

Warning light is important. Alarm a great idea.

05 elise (BOE Rev300 supercharged, SSRs, shift tower mods, Multivex; HID hi/low beams); 05 Corolla XRS. Past '72 Elan Sprint (I restored), Lotus 7 w/X-flow, TT Supra, Bugeye Sprite, BMW 2002 & 2002tii, '65 GTO.

Driving Tips-https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f10...art-1-a-49665/
Moss Emergency Line-https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f10...cy-line-36631/
Bleeding Brakes- https://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f10...-brakes-241138
glb is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-27-2017, 07:24 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by +TSRAGR View Post
@exigegus Any preliminary oil data to share?

I sold my digital oil temp display after a few months of doing the single oil cooler in the rear mod. The time to ideal oil temp (just over 10 minutes) became so predictable that I no longer needed the gauge to confirm the obvious. The hottest I pegged was 220s in traffic, which is still plenty safe for synth oil.

Had I installed an oil pressure gauge, I'd have kept it. Oil pressure is far more useful.
I too find oil pressure the most instructive. I think though that for those who drive in varied conditions the oil temp is useful.

I love having a full complement of gauges, I hate that they don't have amp gauges anymore. A volt readout tells you your alternator is working, an amp gauge tells you if your brake lights are working, whether your battery was getting drained while it sat, all sorts of stuff.

i won't have anymore oil temp data till spring
exigegus is online now  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-27-2017, 07:32 AM
Registered User
 
cyow5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NoVa
Posts: 3,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by exigegus View Post
I too find oil pressure the most instructive. I think though that for those who drive in varied conditions the oil temp is useful.

I love having a full complement of gauges, I hate that they don't have amp gauges anymore. A volt readout tells you your alternator is working, an amp gauge tells you if your brake lights are working, whether your battery was getting drained while it sat, all sorts of stuff.

i won't have anymore oil temp data till spring
I've gotten now where I can tell my oil temp because of RPM and oil pressure, but I wouldn't have had that baseline without the temp gauge to begin with. But since it is there, it has some use, especially if there is some odd-ball issue if a cooler line was blocked, thermostat malfunction, etc. I also have a tablet mounted up and reading all the data from the OBDII. You never can have too much info! haha

"Lots Of Trouble; Usually Serious"
cyow5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > General Discussion (Lotus related)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome