Phone mount for in car video - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 04:54 AM Thread Starter

Phone mount for in car video

Doing my first autocross this Saturday (pretty excited) and I know it’s a bit last minute but does anyone have a good recommendation for a quick mount I can buy to record video inside my Elise? I know from other threads that a quality camera is preferred but I’m not quite there yet. Thinking about mounting it low on the rear glass also so I can see shifting as well as navigating the course. Appreciate your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 05:14 AM

I have no first hand experience with pre-made phone mounts. I don't know where you live, but here in Texas and I can assume in other hot climates just beware of the weather. If you mount your phone in the front window (or any place with direct sun), or leave your car closed up, the phone might reboot or lock up due to overheating. I have heard many many times over auto-x or track weekends where people were bitching about their phones not capturing their video. Easy to work around this (don't leave your phone in the car) but I thought I would mention it to ya. Have fun out there!

Click links to see my 2008 Lotus Exige-S 240 , '99 M3, 505rwhp '89 Mustang ( sold) , '05 WRX STI ( sold) homepages or here for my spin compilations (ispunuwin & ispinuwin2!)!
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 06:16 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricH View Post