Catch Cans - Any real difference? - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By dallasreed

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-26-2016, 07:26 AM Thread Starter

Question Catch Cans - Any real difference?

I'm looking to install catch cans on my '06 REV300 Exige. I'm new to the car (purchased last December and driven 3 times so far). I have oil in the MAF and the inside of the lines are coated. The hose on the non-wide open port was dripping with oil (not a lot, but enough to drip out when held vertically). The car will be autoX monthly and tracked a few times a year plus driving around town.

Below are the options I've found to date. BOE's isn't here as I want non-vented.
Radium Dual Catch can 6oz
Moroso Small 4oz / Large 5.7oz
Sector111 QWKcans 6oz
Sector111 ProAlloy proCATCHcans 6oz
SaikouMichi 7oz

I'm leaning toward the QWKcans, but generally don't like the idea of plastic connectors. I have a BOE clam hinge so mounting to the clam isn't an acceptable option.

Aside from pricing is there any real difference in the performance of these?

Last edited by mwehnes; 04-04-2016 at 05:23 AM. Reason: Add capacity for each option - some are calculated based upon dimensions
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-26-2016, 08:24 AM
Supporting Vendor

I think you would be smart to get one as the amount of high revs that your car will see thx to the driving events will justify the purchase. You will be pushing a fair amount of oil. Watch our PCV video:

The plastic connectors that you are concerned about are automotive-grade OE connectors that tested for engine applications. Of course you can delete them and use simple hose clamps.

One nice advantage of these solutions is that you won't mess up the engine bay with oil vapor that collects dirt that creates a big mess and...

InoKinetic - Tasty Bits for Your Lotus

BlackShadow Motors - Niche Car Sales, Service & Restoration