Blower Motor Resistor DIY w/pics - Page 3 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 12:51 PM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Paul View Post
sorry for my ignoranve.but where is the plug connector so i can check that out ?
No problem, the black connector with all the green wires that plugs into the back of the switch, as in the photo in post #35.
Michael
SirLotus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 11:18 PM
Registered User
 
Jean-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 293
they seem ok.

here is what i have done now. went to the car(daaa) unpluged every cable and tried to short wire each speed with the mains. speed 3 is the only one that worked this way. pluged everythin in again on the switch and short wired them again but this time beeing pluged in on the switch. every speed worked fine !!!! i then unplugged all speeds and tried the one working(speed3) to the spots of the other speeds. in other words i put speed cable 3 on speed 1 and then on speed 2 and tried working the switch. speed 3 was working on the spots of speed 1 and 2 so i guess its not a switch problem. is my car possesed ???please opinions...

I have the simplest tastes...
I am only satisfied with the best !!!

"Simplify & Add Lightness"

J.P

Last edited by Jean-Paul; 02-19-2011 at 11:51 PM.
Jean-Paul is offline  
post #43 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-20-2011, 04:17 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Confirm the below;
a) With the plugs disconnected from the switch, and jumped, GREEN to each of the 3 speeds, only speed 3 works.
b) With the plugs connected to the switch (which is in the off position), and jumped, GREEN to each of the 3 speeds, all 3 speeds work.
c) Speed 3 wire worked on all 3 switch positions.

Will speed 3 wire work on positions 1 & 2
SirLotus is offline  
 
post #44 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-20-2011, 06:58 AM
Registered User
 
Jean-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 293
exactly like you said it !

I have the simplest tastes...
I am only satisfied with the best !!!

"Simplify & Add Lightness"

J.P
Jean-Paul is offline  
post #45 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-20-2011, 07:03 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Paul View Post
exactly like you said it !
And speed 1 & 2 wires will not work in # 3 position, correct?
SirLotus is offline  
post #46 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-20-2011, 07:05 AM
Registered User
 
Jean-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 293
yeap. is it bad, doc ?

I have the simplest tastes...
I am only satisfied with the best !!!

"Simplify & Add Lightness"

J.P

Last edited by Jean-Paul; 02-20-2011 at 07:13 AM.
Jean-Paul is offline  
post #47 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-20-2011, 11:06 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Paul View Post
yeap. is it bad, doc ?
Frankly, I am at a loss, every result of your procedures contradicts the other results, nothing makes sense. Jumpering, should make no difference if the switch is connected or not. I can understand a problem with speeds 1 & 2 not working because they use resistors, however they work with the switch connected, but not disconnected. There is a wire (light green/blue) to/from the fan speed switch that goes to/from the SPM (Switch Pack Module) that goes through logic circuits, I don't know if this could be the problem.
Michael
SirLotus is offline  
post #48 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-20-2011, 12:11 PM
Registered User
 
Jean-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 293
so what do you propose ? noone has experienced anything like it ?

I have the simplest tastes...
I am only satisfied with the best !!!

"Simplify & Add Lightness"

J.P
Jean-Paul is offline  
post #49 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-20-2011, 12:52 PM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
I have not come up against an electrical issue that defies logic, but this is one does. The way you have explained everything to me, seems clear, therefore I presume that all is correct. Shooting in the dark here, but try pulling off the small gauge, light green/blue wire and see what happens.
SirLotus is offline  
post #50 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 12:03 AM
Registered User
 
Jean-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 293
nothing really changed. should i post somewhere else as a problem so more member see it ?

I have the simplest tastes...
I am only satisfied with the best !!!

"Simplify & Add Lightness"

J.P
Jean-Paul is offline  
post #51 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:46 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Are you sure that when you jumper with the switch installed, all 3 speeds are working. I mean slow, medium and fast, or is it just one speed in all 3 positions.
SirLotus is offline  
post #52 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 04:31 AM
Registered User
 
Jean-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 293
yes all of the speeds work correctly. slow middle and fast( middle and fast not that big o difference ) i think that was like that from original though

I have the simplest tastes...
I am only satisfied with the best !!!

"Simplify & Add Lightness"

J.P
Jean-Paul is offline  
post #53 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 07:53 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Paul View Post
yes all of the speeds work correctly. slow middle and fast( middle and fast not that big o difference ) i think that was like that from original though
Ok another idea, instead of using the green feed in, can you run a long wire/jumper directly from the battery positive and try the same test for all three speeds with the switch disconnected from the wires.
michael
SirLotus is offline  
post #54 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 09:03 AM
Registered User
 
Jean-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 293
done it. . only speed 3 is working this way again. put everything back on the switch short wired all speed work correctly

I have the simplest tastes...
I am only satisfied with the best !!!

"Simplify & Add Lightness"

J.P
Jean-Paul is offline  
post #55 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 10:16 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Paul View Post
done it. . only speed 3 is working this way again. put everything back on the switch short wired all speed work correctly
Are you sure this is not your plan to drive me insane .
Michael
SirLotus is offline  
post #56 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 11:15 AM
Registered User
 
Jean-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 293
Dear Mike, I am dead serious. I am ready to kill myself !!!!!is it possible that none from all of the members in our forum has faced a similar situation ? shooout

I have the simplest tastes...
I am only satisfied with the best !!!

"Simplify & Add Lightness"

J.P
Jean-Paul is offline  
post #57 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 11:45 AM
Registered User
 
bigpile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 30
My problem is that heater speeds 1 and 2 work fine, but speed 3 puts out no air. I will try the jumper test that Viper suggested. Also the recirculate button doesn't work. Did anyone ever get info on how to squeeze that St. Bernard through the cat door?

=============================
2005 Lotus Elise - Bordeaux Red, Touring.
"yes you may ride the short bus with me, but I get to wear the helmet this time. That makes you the window licker"
bigpile is offline  
post #58 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 01:28 PM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpile View Post
My problem is that heater speeds 1 and 2 work fine, but speed 3 puts out no air. I will try the jumper test that Viper suggested. Also the recirculate button doesn't work. Did anyone ever get info on how to squeeze that St. Bernard through the cat door?
Don't worry about the recirculation, just tape over the front intakes and you have recirc all the time.
SirLotus is offline  
post #59 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 02:03 PM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Paul View Post
Dear Mike, I am dead serious. I am ready to kill myself !!!!!is it possible that none from all of the members in our forum has faced a similar situation ? shooout
Jean-Paul,
This "electrical sub-forum" is the correct place to post. I have never heard of a totally illogical electrical problem such as this. In saying that my electrical experience tells me that there has to be a logical explanation and I HATE to admit defeat.
Michael
SirLotus is offline  
post #60 of 113 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 10:25 PM
Registered User
 
Jean-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 293
So dear Mike... i am letting it up to you !! I am putting everything in again , cause my interior is like it has throwed up and waiting for new suggestions...thank you for all your help so far !!

I have the simplest tastes...
I am only satisfied with the best !!!

"Simplify & Add Lightness"

J.P
Jean-Paul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > A/C, Heating and Ventilation

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome