DIY Blower Motor Resistor Pack Replacement - Page 6 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #101 of 169 (permalink) Old 04-01-2012, 06:22 PM
Registered User
 
-LAW-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 324
My resistor pack went out and it's been 6 months with no AC lol I will tackle this job maybe in a month... Summer is coming lol

-Law
-LAW- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #102 of 169 (permalink) Old 06-12-2012, 07:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 173
Steps to get to resistor if not going throught the footwell
1. Evac the R134
2. remove front clam
3. remove HVAC components
4. fix resistor
5. place HVAC components back
6. put clam back on
7. recharge R134

Do we have to remove the coolant at all?
rcuser is offline  
post #103 of 169 (permalink) Old 06-19-2012, 08:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 173
In the process of doing this, so I'll answer my own question. No need to drain the coolant to do this. You actually lose very little coolant, maybe 1/2 a cup's worth. I did plug the pipe up with saran wrap and rubber bands to temporarily seal. I didn't leave the metal pipe open to continue dripping.
rcuser is offline  
 
post #104 of 169 (permalink) Old 06-19-2012, 11:07 AM
xtn
Registered User
 
xtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,981
The actual coolant will spit, sputter, and quickly evaporate. If anything is left to drip out that is probably oil.

2006 McLareghini Bugatterrari, Storm Titanium... installed: air horn, Scroth 4-point ASM harnesses, Sector111 halon extinguisher and mounting bracket, Von Hep exhaust and rear panel delete, Pagid brake pads, red Volks CE28n wheels, Toyo RA-1 tires, Nitron SA coilovers, Sector111 (WorksBell) quick-disconnect steering wheel kit. awaiting installation: Scroth "pull-up" lap belts, Sector111 RTD Brace, Tony's heater bypass mod, and dropped steering rack mounting plates.
xtn is offline  
post #105 of 169 (permalink) Old 06-19-2012, 12:16 PM
Registered User
 
kbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcuser View Post
In the process of doing this, so I'll answer my own question. No need to drain the coolant to do this. You actually lose very little coolant, maybe 1/2 a cup's worth. I did plug the pipe up with saran wrap and rubber bands to temporarily seal. I didn't leave the metal pipe open to continue dripping.
Did you disconnect the radiator or just lift it out of the way? I haven't gone in there yet...

I have it! (5/6/2006) 2005 CO, LSS, Touring, hard top.
kbob is offline  
post #106 of 169 (permalink) Old 06-19-2012, 03:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Woodlands Tx
Posts: 2,360
No need to mess with the rad at all for this. The coolant lines that need to be disconnected are the ones to the heater core

Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App

Seriously, my car is small
07 Exige-S, "Landshark"
05 Saffron Yellow "bumbleBee", on to a new owner
Also:
84 930 turbo, 06 WRX Wagon
aschen is offline  
post #107 of 169 (permalink) Old 06-21-2012, 07:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 173
hi, question about recharging system. ac lines are apart and capped. Will recharge with .55kg/19.4oz R134a and manifold gauges to check pressure. Do I add a separate amount of oil into the low side with the white can of PAG46? I'm changing out the drier and manual says it needs 30cm^3 of oil. How do I gauge/measure that amount to put in? Or how much do I have to add to the system total.



hvac.pdf


Also using new o rings. I'm assuming to lube them in the PAG46 oil seen below in the black container.



and any tips/advice on recharging will be appreciated, thanks

Last edited by rcuser; 06-21-2012 at 10:54 PM.
rcuser is offline  
post #108 of 169 (permalink) Old 06-21-2012, 10:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 173
did more research and I think i got it. Someone could confirm.

30 cubic cm = 1 oz. So I will use the black container above and pour in 1 oz of pag46 into the IN-port on the drier and quickly hook it up and seal the ac system.

10 cubic cm = .33 oz which is needed for any major tubes if I were to flush the old oil out beforehand.

I could also add oil to the condensor and evaporator if I were to flush those out too.

Since I'm reparing the resistors and my ac system was in good working order beforehand, I could just replace the drier and add oil to it. Not flush out the rest of the system out and not add oil to the rest of the system.

And no need to use the above white can of pag46
rcuser is offline  
post #109 of 169 (permalink) Old 05-18-2013, 02:55 PM
Saffron Yellow is Lighter
 
XtinctElise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by staggarlee View Post
I am not an expert but did just perform this job utilizing information from this forum. The drier is only a $27 Napa part. I would definitely recommend replacing it while you're in there. I did it as last step before reinstalling the front clam.
Does anyone know what part number the drier is? NAPA has no cross reference for Lotus.
XtinctElise is offline  
post #110 of 169 (permalink) Old 05-18-2013, 04:07 PM
Saffron Yellow is Lighter
 
XtinctElise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob13572468 View Post
Below is the wiring diagram for connecting the resistors. I choose to mount the resistors to a small aluminum panel and bolt it next to the fuse block. The wires are simply soldered to the resistor ends. Once everything was completed I actually got much higher airflow from the blower motor because of the larger primary wiring and good connections.
What is the reason that 2) 0.27 ohm resistors are not used? Is it just due to the Wattage? I would think 2) 100W 0.27 ohm resistors would work, correct?
XtinctElise is offline  
post #111 of 169 (permalink) Old 05-19-2013, 12:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2,339
Have anyone tried to put a higher resistor for fan #1 and #2? I find that they move too much air.
Nessal is offline  
post #112 of 169 (permalink) Old 07-08-2013, 12:36 PM
Registered User
 
Ph0t0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob13572468 View Post
mouser has a substitute part available:
71-RH50-0.05
71-RH50-0.27
Something is not right on the mouser website. Look up manufacturer part number RH050R0500FC02 (71-RH50-0.05). At the top of the page in the description section it says "Wirewound Resistors - Chassis Mount 50watts 0.05ohms 1%", which is fine and dandy because that's exactly what we want (according to post #53 in this thread). But then in the specifications page it says "Resistance: 500 mOhms". 0.05ohms == 50 milliohms not 500!!

So I don't know which number to believe - the description or the spec. Is this a typo on mouser? All you EE guys are insane - software is so much less frustrating!
Ph0t0n is offline  
post #113 of 169 (permalink) Old 07-08-2013, 01:36 PM
Saffron Yellow is Lighter
 
XtinctElise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph0t0n View Post
All you EE guys are insane - software is so much less frustrating!
That's why you get the EE degree and then go into software. Someone needs to keep an eye on all these guys that think they can program!

I ordered these parts from Mouser and all is working fine:

Mouser #: 71-RH50-0.15
Mouser #: 71-RH50-0.1
Mouser #: 71-RH50-0.27
XtinctElise is offline  
post #114 of 169 (permalink) Old 07-08-2013, 03:01 PM
Registered User
 
Ph0t0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 171
I have confirmed that mouser has a typo and I submitted a suggestion for them to fix it. The 71-RH50-0.05 really is 0.05 ohms (50 milliohms).

One thing I'm confused on still...

Rob mentioned: "The new resistors were not mounted in the original position as there is no good reason to leave them there. The resistors were instead mounted next to the fuse panel for easy access."

Isn't the fuse panel out of the path of the blower where the fuses could get hot and overheat? The super expensive kit (A120P0148S) relocates the resistors inside of the heaterbox to avoid overheating. Where are you guys mounting them???

Also, does anyone know what part number is on the drier/dryer?

Last edited by Ph0t0n; 07-14-2013 at 05:20 PM.
Ph0t0n is offline  
post #115 of 169 (permalink) Old 07-14-2013, 12:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 173
I PM'ed someone on here who had it by the fuse box in the hot temps of AZ with no issues. I wanted some cooling effect so placed it behind the passenger side front oil cooler in the wheel well. the small right front grill provides outside air. However I sold the elise so don't know how well it worked.

NAPA, #208312 Drier

it's a challenging DIY but rewarding when all is done
rcuser is offline  
post #116 of 169 (permalink) Old 07-29-2013, 05:10 AM
Carbon Fiber
 
FistHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,637
Mouser #: 71-RH50-0.1 this part is out of stock. Can anyone suggest a close second?


I think I am going to go with:

Mouser Part #:71-RH50-0.2

Last edited by FistHammer; 07-29-2013 at 05:19 AM.
FistHammer is offline  
post #117 of 169 (permalink) Old 08-04-2013, 03:29 PM
Such moderate
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6,718
Garage
I'm guessing the black square spot is the hole that needs to be covered up if you relocate it?

Doge is offline  
post #118 of 169 (permalink) Old 08-04-2013, 03:29 PM
Such moderate
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6,718
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by FistHammer View Post
Mouser #: 71-RH50-0.1 this part is out of stock. Can anyone suggest a close second?


I think I am going to go with:

Mouser Part #:71-RH50-0.2
Did you ever get yours? I'm gonna have to order mine this week.
Doge is offline  
post #119 of 169 (permalink) Old 08-04-2013, 04:50 PM
Carbon Fiber
 
FistHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,637
I got them quick but when I tested the blower I realized I only full power is not working. Then people on here said there's not much difference from 2 or 3.

I don't wanna dig in anymore, ill take #2 besides it will be heat soon haha'

Guess these parts go on the someday shelf '


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

If brute force is not working you're not using enough.
FistHammer is offline  
post #120 of 169 (permalink) Old 08-05-2013, 04:31 AM
Registered User
 
SirLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delray Beach FL
Posts: 6,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew09 View Post
I'm guessing the black square spot is the hole that needs to be covered up if you relocate it?

The kit for the revised Resistor Pack for relocation within the HVAC enclosure comes with a blanking plate to seal the vent hole.
Michael
SirLotus is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community > Lotus Discussions > A/C, Heating and Ventilation

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome