We should report the oil line failures to NHTSA - Page 7 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #121 of 128 (permalink) Old 08-23-2011, 04:00 PM

Dang, this seems to be happening at a more and more alarming rate. It almost seems like it WILL be guaranteed to happen if not replaced. I feel like I'm sitting on a time bomb. I don't have the expertise to pull everything apart nor the spare $$$ to pay someone else to replace it right now. Yes, feel free to flame away but I'm not a mechanical wizard comfortable with removing clams and everything else associated with that project.

My Elise has 31K miles and is right in the 'zone' for the failure. I hope the NHTSA comes to a conclusion soon. This is not like normal wear and tear items that you replace when you see the wear. With this issue you are totally fine and any mechanic would look and say you are fine - until out of the blue you are totally not fine. Then you end up hopefully with only a damaged or roasted engine instead of losing control and going over a cliff or into head on traffic because of a massive oil blowout directly on your tires.

I told a girlfriend about this and now she won't ride with me until something gets done about it. Ha.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #122 of 128 (permalink) Old 08-23-2011, 10:33 PM

yeah I bought the 200mile towing AAA membership right before I drove down to Pismo Beach for the weekend. Good piece of mind.

Phantom Black 2007 Exige Kold Fire, Tesla double din dash.
Black 01' Mustang Cobra 'Vert ("some" modifications) daily driver
post #123 of 128 (permalink) Old 08-23-2011, 11:37 PM
6i9

Quote:
Originally Posted by discocubizm View Post
Got a call from NHTSA today. They want pictures and service records from my two oil line failures. The investigation appears to be in full swing...
Cool, please keep us posted.

2005 Magnetic Blue Lotus Exige