A Modest Proposal (Automotive) - Page 3 - LotusTalk - The Lotus Cars Community
 40Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 11:45 PM
krn

Speaking of overpopulation, my wife chimed in and thinks education and birth control are key to saving our species. To be clear, she's not advocating a Thanos solution though

She found this video, from the Museum of Natural History, showing the growth of our population through the ages. Starts off slow, hits 2nd cam after a few minutes, then says eff it and straps on the booster rockets...

robo60 and Jason Alderman like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #42 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 03:55 AM
Elise Guru

Wow, interesting discussion that I am so NOT gonna wade into. The Electric car stuff is interesting though. As an engineer, I find the technical aspects of the full "cradle-to-grave" of emissions interesting. In some ways and efficient IC engine is more efficient because we aren't strip-mining the earth for Lithium in China or Cobalt in the Congo. Of course, child labor abuses in the Congo are also pretty bad. That is not to throw rocks at electric, as that is a "right-now" problem from early industry start-up that will probably get solved as the industry matures. As an Electrical Engineer, I find the Electric and Hybrid stuff fascinating. Looking forward to "modding" that stuff in the future. As an enthusiast, the sowing machine sound of an electric does nothing for me, though as a consumer, not changing oil will be nice.

On the Electric front, some very interesting mid to long-term challenges:

1. I think we will settle on a 200-250 mile range as the sweet spot for a while. Why? Smaller batteries are lighter, cheaper, and charge faster. Additionally, since we are charging every night at home, seldom will we need to stop to charge except on trips. Once the charging infrastructure is in place, longer than 200-250 mile range will be unnecessary.