9Likes
  • 5 Post By Ls1Rx7
  • 1 Post By darkSol
  • 1 Post By Kevin Michael
  • 1 Post By oldmansan
  • 1 Post By fzust

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-15-2018, 08:32 AM Thread Starter

Kudos to Fred @ BWR (Black Watch Racing)

I gotta say, moving to the Lotus platform has been a bit of an adjustment, and one of those adjustments was working with the vendors.
This is a small platform, and as a business owner I can imagine how difficult it would be to run a small business catering to a niche audience whom are likely pretty difficult to work with (I'm speaking of myself as well here btw).
That alone is enough to make it somewhat feel like a thankless job at times, and thats the impression that I've gotten from some of the vendors I've worked with when sourcing parts for the car.

That's even when spending thousands, but there's definately an excpetion to this, and thats Fred @ BWR.

I called BWR last winter looking to buy some small items. Anyway Fred helped me out and I told him man your Penske DAs have been teasing me, and he said keep an eye on the website, we're doing a black friday special. So I waited and when they went on special, they were still way more than I wanted to spend, but the SOLE reason that pushed me over the edge to buying them was I felt like I was supporting a good guy and a good company. If he wasn't so nice I would have said, to hell with it I'm not supporting them, I don't need them that bad.

And I've had a couple questions and what not since, and he's been very communicative.

Now I figured that might just be because I spent a decent chunk of money. So, I was surprised that 8 months later when I go on the website to order some anti rattle detent pins for $30 and their website is quoting over $30 for shipping, I figured I'd write them and see if they had another shipping option.